Album Review: Chaos Doctrine – Chaos Doctrine (Self Released)

Chaos Doctrine is a metal band from Johannesburg, South Africa. The band is the brainchild of vocalist Dr D (Bedlam, Malachi, DedX) and guitarist Ray (Superclown, Malachi, Stone the Free, DedX), who wanted to create a unique sound by blending classic thrash and death with newer waves of metal and industrial.

Originally formed in 2010 with bassist Phil (DedX), the band had a few member changes before enrolling guitarist Alec (Sacraphyx, The Warinsane) in 2013. In 2017, founding drummer Ralph Margo (Beast of Eden, Sacrifist, Tyburn, Misericord, Hate Speech) re-joined the band to complete the line-up.

For Chaos Doctrine, metal is aggression and their debut self-titled release is out on July 27th 2018.

Chaos Doctrine 2

A long and pretty pointless intro of fuzzy distant noise and sounds isn’t the strongest start for Chaos Doctrine but they more then make up for it with what follows. The mammoth beat of Dia De Los Muertos combines the best of industrial and metal to drop an absolute banger that is like a call to arms for all of heavy music. Chaotic but structured, heavy but so rhythmic, dark and light at the same time.

FTG follows suit bringing great metal groove & these subtle background effects before My Demise pushes the boat out with a hell of an effort. Over 10 minutes long, its slower tempo begins to build being led to the brink of madness by the drums and howling vocals. Taking it all but giving back more somehow, it’s an exhausting track but one that pays off your time with ease. By the end it’s barely recognisable as the same track thanks to a thrash-based bit of raging noise.



Similar to the intro, Helix is better as an intermission as it’s far shorter. It also flows seemlessly into Incubator. The gothic tone at the start gives way to deep and grinding thrash style metal that harks back to bands like Slayer and Testament. If they had used industrial effects and sounds to heighten the atmosphere around their tunes, that is. A decent shout for the best track on the album.

Having already proved they have a real talent for delivering crunchy metal, Chaos Doctrine don’t really have much else to do but that doesn’t stop them. Cult brings the heaviest drumming and deepest riffs heard so far while The Genocide Number drops hardcore style vocals alongside wickedly heavy flashes of metal and industrial. The chant of “genocide” gets in your head and you’ll find yourself shouting along with glee!

Chaos Doctrine 1

Chaos Doctrine – Chaos Doctrine Full Track Listing:

1. Intro
2. Dia De Los Muertos
3. FTG
4. My Demise
5. Helix
6. Incubator
7. Cult
8. The Genocide Number



The album is available now via all major streaming services including iTunes, Spotify and Deezer. Find out more and keep up to date with news by checking out Chaos Doctrine’s website, Facebook Page and Twitter.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Chaos Doctrine - Chaos Doctrine (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)