EP Review: Vvorse – Ajatus vapaudesta (Self Released)

Ajatus vapaudesta (Thought of freedom) is the third release from Jyväskylä based Finnish neo-crust group Vvorse. The five track EP consist of aggressive hardcore combined with dark and dystopic atmospheres and is out on December 5th 2018.

Vvorse 2

High energy, fast-paced and rawish sounding hardcore is the driving force behind this EP with a nice amount of variety between the five tracks. The throat-wrenching vocals alongside the chunkiness of the guitars brings Takaisin pimeyteen’s heavy sound bubbling to the surface as the opener. It’s a strong start and Aivan tarpeeksi kauan builds on that with a rolling drum beat and uncomfortable level of tempo switches. The sudden bit of light melody and distant screaming vocals is pretty special.

Tuhkapatsaat initially doesn’t really excel until the final few minutes where it breaks down and delivers wickedly heavy guitars. While Vika on tässä paikassa and Orjat provide enough hardcore fury to kick off a thousand pits around the world.

Vvorse 1

Vvorse – Ajatus vapaudesta Full Track Listing:

1. Takaisin pimeyteen
2. Aivan tarpeeksi kauan
3. Tuhkapatsaat
4. Vika on tässä paikassa
5. Orjat

You can pick up Vvorse’s music over on Bandcamp and find out more by checking out their Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Vvorse - Ajatus vapaudesta (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)