Album Review: Mother of All – The Age of Solipsist (Black Lion Records)

Founded by drummer and vocalist Martin Haumann (ex-Myrkur, ex-Afsky), Mother of All presents a technical blend of melodic and progressive death metal with help from iconic bassist Steve Di Giorgio (Testament, ex-Death) and rising Danish guitarist Frederik Jensen.

Age of the Solipsist will be released on April 23rd 2021 on CD (digipak) and digital via Black Lion Records and on multiple vinyl variants via Over the Under Records.

Wanting to make a bang from the start, Mother of All introduce us to their absorbing balance of fast-paced death and melodic metal with Autumn. Melody that kicks into a higher gear; a punchy and raw guitar edge, strong drum rhythm and plenty of energy kind of gear. The melodies are what make this such a captivating opener though.

We Don’t Agree is where the guitars really start to show of more of the technicality and the vocals step up an extra notch here too in regards to the speed of delivery. Curators of Our World Scope follows that with even more intensity, having a bit of a thrash form for something truly wild. Spaced out tempo drops just about keep it all together.

The title track is another highlight though. The drum beat is killer, the guitar riffs really get under the skin and the bass really hums along. It’s one of the few tracks where the vocals, while still cutting as hell, take a backseat to the rest of the instruments.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Strong stuff. At the Edge of a Dream and Blood Still Owed focus on the heavier and faster end of their spectrum. Which brings us to Feel the Pain, the stand out track thanks to catchy melody and hard-hitting heavier riffs. It also has a ton of layered vocals, one of which is cleaner and the chorus is super punchy.

A good album bookended by two great songs. That’s a great return for a 7-track release.

Mother of All – Age of the Solipsist Full Track Listing:

1. Autumn
2. We Don’t Agree
3. Curators of Our World Scope
4. Age of the Solipsist
5. At the Edge of a Dream
6. Blood Still Owed
7. Feel the Pain


Bandcamp | Spotify | Facebook | Black Lion Records

Mother of All - The Age of Solipsist (Black Lion Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)