Album Review: Ixion – L’adieu aux Etoiles (28978 Productions/Finisterian Dead End)

With a reaffirmed doom and mournful dimension, and ambient-electronic atmospheres from the cold depths of space, it reveals the essence of Ixion’s music, highlighted by thorough arrangements and the most ambitious production from the project.

Says Julien of Ixion:

I started to compose this album driven by a desire to get back to funeral doom ambiences, and soon felt the new material was in fact at the very heart of our universe. Thus, it became the idea : to release a condensed album, focused on our core musical identity. It deserved a careful production, and finally, the songs really sound as we had imagined! Not forgetting the amazing artworks and photos which perfectly illustrate the music and concept. All this makes the album so special for us.

L’adieu aux Etoiles will be released on October 9th 2020 via 28978 Productions / Finisterian Dead End.

It’s great to have new Ixion music, the French atmospheric/ambient doom band having wowed us at the end of 2017 with Return. Here though, the band really push the limits of what it means to be a modern doom band. Simply by being as dark, mournful and heavy as the greats that litter the scene while also layering so much thrilling and challenging ambience to the 7 tracks on offer. You’re left with but one choice. Sit back and marvel at what an incredible effort this is.

This might be a special record for Ixion but come the end, it is going to be a special record for everyone who hears it.

Buy Me a Coffee at

The word ‘stunning’ shouldn’t be thrown around too often but in the case of L’adieu aux Etoiles, it’s what sums up the album perfectly. It’s an album that will leave you dry and thirsting for more even though the refreshment never stopped coming. It’s an album that removes you from wherever you are and sends you on a spiralling trip into Ixion’s gloom.

All while the sheer beauty of what is on offer surrounds you in such a comforting way. One of the best albums of 2020 without a doubt.

Ixion – L’adieu aux Etoiles Full Track Listing:

1. Stellar Crown
2. Havoc
3. The Great Achievement
4. Progeny
5. The Black Veil
6. Pulsing Worlds
7. Farewell


Bandcamp | Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Ixion - L'adieu aux Etoiles (28978 Productions/Finisterian Dead End)
  • The Final Score - 9.5/10
User Review
4.03/10 (3 votes)