Album Review: Estuarine – Sic Erat Scriptum (Self Released)

Out on January 1st 2018, Sic Erat Scriptum is the new album from Nomadic one man extreme metal project, Estuarine.



One-person metal projects are becoming more and more in vogue as we go into 2019. With a wealth of technology on hand, a serious work ethic and some talent there is less need to go out and find other people to play with unless you’re looking to start playing live.

We often find that these projects lean towards atmospheric black metal, dungeon synth and similar effects driven music. It’s rare that we get something like Sic Erat Scriptum by Estuarine. A blend of blackened death and progressive metal. The better term is avant-garde metal. Over an hour long with nine tracks, there is plenty to sink your teeth into here.

Released last year, we’re very glad to have had this come our way now as Sic Erat Scriptum is an unquestionably intriguing album. With many of the elements that we enjoy in metal put together in a way that excites.

The roughness of the riffs and vocals is offset by cleaner passages of complex rhythms, oddball changes in direction and high energy heaviness. Eternal Womb Terminal is an early example of the wackiness that is littered throughout. We’re not talking tongue in cheek silliness or anything, more a mashed up style of metal that is impossible to predict.

Undoubtedly the highlight is the excellent Panthalassa, a track that is wild and uncouth while also delivering hefty slices of progressiveness. The song structure is built on a solid wall of deep heaviness and it makes for a thrilling listen.

Then there is Choir of Infinity, the second longest track on the album at over 11 minutes. Also one of the most intense songs on the album, the barrage continues and continues until you’re physically and mentally defeated.

Not to be outdone, the title track and album closer is a couple of seconds short of 14 minutes. Requiring a different approach and maybe a more deft hand considering what came before, it actually begins with intriguing instrumentation. Of course that builds to a sudden burst of furious intensity broken up with exciting guitar segments. The wildness is not without focus, it’s just so casual about it. Switching to playful rhythm as if it’s not odd at all.

Estuarine showcases an imagination that would be called genius by some, mad by others. The end result is an album that we can all enjoy it all its insanity.

Estuarine 1

Estuarine – Sic Erat Scriptum Full Track Listing:

1. Cusp of Creation
2. Phosphorus and Sulfur
3. Eternal Womb Terminal
4. Slaves of Mammon
5. Panthalassa
6. Seated Upon the Ocean Throne
7. Formulated Apex Succession
8. Choir of Infinity
9. Sic Erat Scriptum

The album can be ordered over on Bandcamp in a number of bundles, on Big Cartel and streamed via Spotify. Find out more and keep up to date with news by liking Estuarine’s Facebook Page, Instagram and watch videos on YouTube.

Estuarine - Sic Erat Scriptum (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)