EP Review: Alexander Nakarada – Christmas Metal (Self Released)

Alexander Nakarada is a Norwegian composer, and the founder of SerpentSound Studios. His main focus is to make it easier for all the creative people around the world to get music for their work. Royalty-free music provider for every single human being with an internet connection.

Christmas Metal is an EP containing six traditional Christmas pieces covered in a non-traditional way.



Sticking to the sure-fire Christmas covers, Alexander Nakarada’s 6 track Christmas EP is not going to cause spontaneous bouts of joyfulness. Not because it’s bad, nor is it because it lacks in Christmas cheer. No, rather it’s because we heard all of these tracks done ‘rock and metal’ style countless times. His attempts at his own spin are often so minor, they’re completely buried under the rhythm and beat of the traditional tune.

That’s exemplified on Deck the Halls and God Rest Ye Merry Gentleman. The guitars and drums have some meat to them and there is this undercurrent of threat throughout. However, they’re both so recognised. No amount of ‘darkening’ it up will change that.

It is more admirable on the following Jingle Bells though as the start is suitably dour before the tempo is kicked up a notch. It’s here that it really becomes Jingle Bells although the off-base middle section doesn’t work.

Then to wrap up the EP we have Twelve Days of Christmas and We Wish You A Merry Christmas. The former’s piano intro giving way to the familiar melody played out with a guitar. It’s decent enough and has the good grace to not last long. The latter is even shorter at just under a minute and a half and is quite a departure from everything else as it sounds so very upbeat. It’s a welcome closer even if it’s another cover that has been done to death. That being said, it’s a very good one.

Alexander Nakarada – Christmas Metal Full Track Listing:

1. Deck the Halls
2. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
3. Jingle Bells
4. Joy to the World
5. Twelve Days of Christmas
6. We Wish You A Merry Christmas


Website | Patreon | Bandcamp | YouTube


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Alexander Nakarada - Christmas Metal (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 6/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)