Album Review: Visionoir – The Waving Flame of Oblivion (Self Released)

Visionoir is the solo project of Alessandro Sicur, a project that was born in 1998. On October 23rd 2017, the debut album ‘The Waving Flame of Oblivion’ was released. A unique mix of doom, gothic and progressive metal and rock.

Visionoir 2

The effects driven opener, Distant Karma is a bit Halloween-style tune, the kind of upbeat gothic tone that would fit in a kitchy horror movie. The increase in guitar by the end helps make stand out before the The Hollow Men & 7even increase the effective & catchy tone with contrasting styles.

The Waving Flame of Oblivion is an album that grows in confidence as it goes on. Almost timid to begin with, by time it reaches The Discouraging Doctrine of Chances the progressive side is really rearing its head. A highlight of the album, the booming guitar riffs, echoing spoken word & twisting gothic edge really impress.

It might be heavy on the elctronica but the album isn’t dominated by them. Some tracks like Shadowplay are more focused on that side then others but they fit perfectly together likes pieces of puzzle.

Then there are times when Visionoir produce instant classics such as the keyboard-led Coldwaves, a wonderful melodic & mournful tune that has just the right edge of positivity.

An excellent & innovate release ends on soaring guitar melody, introspective effects & spoken word sections that have huge impact. It’s fantastic finish to an album that really upped its game in the second half.



For those wanting a little more there is an up-tempo & lengthy (10+ minutes) bonus track called Godspeed Radio Galaxy. A nice enough add-on that perhaps goes on a little too long. A minor complaint for an album that can simply be called great.

Visionoir 1

Visionoir – The Waving Flame of Oblivion Full Track Listing:

1. Distant Karma
2. The Hollow Men
3. 7even
4. The Discouraging Doctrine of Chances
5. Shadowplay
6. Electro-Choc
7. Coldwaves
8. A Few More Steps
9. Godspeed Radio Galaxy (Bonus Track)

[amazon_link asins=’B076QC5CZ8,B076QBDYS5,B076QB66MF,B076QB642V’ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’d87a3c18-1570-11e8-85b1-af5af68cd6bb’]

You can pick up the album now over on Bandcamp, Tidal, iTunes, Deezer, Spotify, Google Play and via Amazon above. You can also listen via Apple Music below, watch videos on YouTube and find out more on Facebook.

Visionoir - The Waving Flame of Oblivion (Self Released)
  • 8.5/10
    The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Rating 5 (1 vote)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.