Album Review: Turbonegro – RockNRoll Machine (Scandinavian Leather Recordings)

RockNRoll Machine is the new album from rock and roll/punk rock Turbonegro. Their first since 2012’s Sexual Harassment. The album is out now via Scandinavian Leather Recordings.

Turbonegro 2

A futuristic intro with some spoken word introduces the RockNRoll Machine, an album filled with hard-rock riffs & bouncy party punk.

Both are in abundance as Part II: Well Hello makes itself known at the event with a wickedly catchy chorus before sliding into the title track with ease. A slower, groove-heavy rhythm makes this a great listen, it’s every bit as rock and roll as you could hope it to be. The only negative is the occasional computerised voice saying the title is a bit grating.

RockNRoll Machine is about delivering feel-good rock, the kind that is easy to enjoy. Tracks like Hurry Up & Die, Fist City & On the Rag are fun & uncomplicated but not likely to live long in the memory. If they came on at a party or in a club you’d get the urge to have a little dance.

The high points of the album comes from the Van Halen-esqe 80’s vibe of Skinhead Rock & Roll, the sultry vibe & singalong chorus of Hot for Nietzche and the utterly brillant John Carpenter Power Ballad.

The latter of the three deserves special mention as it absolutely nails the sound & vibe of an 80’s power ballad. You can hear this being used in an action film montage!

After that it’s a pity that the album ends on a flat note. Special Education is catchy as you’d expect but is lacking excitement & energy. A disappointing finale but one that won’t leave too much of a blemish on a good rock & roll record!

Turbonegro 1

Turbonegro – RockNRoll Machine Full Track Listing:

1. Chrome Ozone Creation (The Rock and Roll Machine Suite, Part I)
2. Part II: Well Hello
3. Part III: RockNRoll Machine
4. Hurry Up & Die
5. Fist City
6. Skinhead Rock & Roll
7. Hot For Nietzsche
8. On the Rag
9. Let the Punishment Fit the Behind
10. John Carpenter Power Ballad
11. Special Education

[amazon_link asins=’B0788XVW33,B0008FHP1Y,B078J4ZSP8,B004GBP4L4′ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’4ec3dc7d-0873-11e8-96b2-b7a71af7a6c9′]

Check out the album yourself via Apple Music below.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Turbonegro - RockNRoll Machine (Scandinavian Leather Recordings)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
3.57 (7 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *