Album Review: Stygian Obsession – Form Is Void (Pacific Threnodies)

Form Is Void is the new release from Stygian Obsession. A harrowing glimpse into the blackest recesses of human consciousness. The album will be released via Pacific Threnodies on January 27th 2018.

A booming intro builds in delicious evilness before erupting into the ferocious black metal sound of Deep in the Bonds of Darkness. A brutalising effort that delivers on more then just heaviness. It also provides haunting effects that mix well with the groovy riffs & guttural vocals.

Gasping in Nausea in the Throes of Void keeps things dark & heavy before Ceremonial Rites of the Abyss ups the tempo. Still keeping it blackened, Stygian Obsession prove that they’re not afraid to dip their rotten toes into other genres of metal. A highlight of the record.

Not that there is actually any lowlights as Form is Void smashes down the walls of your resistance. The penultimate track, Vomit Empyral even has the blood & guts to throw in a screeching guitar solo before All That Are in the Graves Shall Hear his Voice caps things off perfectly.

A finale that throws everything at the wall including pieces of flesh.

Stygian Obsession 1

Stygian Obsession – Form Is Void Full Track Listing:

1. Stygian Obsession
2. Deep In The Bonds Of Darkness
3. Gasping In Nausea In The Throes of Void
4. Ceremonial Rites of the Abyss
5. Vomit Empyral
6. All That Are In The Graves Shall Hear His Voice

You can order the album now over on Pacific Threnodies’ Bandcamp here


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Stygian Obsession - Form Is Void (Pacific Threnodies)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
1 (1 vote)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *