Album Review: Spacetrucker – Smooth Orbit (Self Released)

Cosmic travellers are rarely down to earth, but Spacetrucker embody the humble spirit of their native Missouri.

“The truth is we are from the Midwest, and all rose from the ashes of bands who struggled without much success, putting us in a place to create a no-fuck-around sound and boiling our mutual musical tastes down to the basic elements that really do it for us.”

While those influences of classic rock, grunge and stoner fuzz were left to simmer on first record Launch Sequence, they have since been distilled into a heady cocktail on Smooth Orbit, with extra garnishments added in the process.

Smooth Orbit is set to be released August 17th 2018.

Spacetrucker 2

The stoner rock sound of Spaetrucker makes both their name and the title of the album fit nicely. They have an otherworldly, spacey and trippy style to their riffs and vocals all while keeping things catchy and energetic.

Opener Sample of a Sample is filled with body-shaking groove and a deep bass throb that will make your loins ache. Not As Hung is a bit of the opposite as it’s shorter and more to the point ending with a wicked tempo increase that really shows off the drums. Then there is the brief and threatening interlude of Breach. Threatening because of the air-raid siren and deep chugging guitars.

In their first three songs, Spacetrucker have all but confirmed themselves as a band that everyone needs to be talking about.

…but it gets better.

Meat Wagon is simply brilliant, one of the more darker and moody tracks of the album. The sound of a bong introduces Hotbox Airlock to add more weight to the stoner side of Spacetrucker. All before Vanishing Point, Pulling Teeth and Lost in Sauce ensure this is going to go down as one of the great albums of 2018.

Spacetrucker 1

Spacetrucker – Smooth Orbit Full Track Listing:

1. Sample of a Sample
2. Not As Hung
3. Breach
4. Meat Wagon
5. Fuck Up
6. Hotbox Airlock
7. Cat March
8. Vanishing Point
9. Pulling Teeth
10. Lost in the Sauce

You can pick up Spacetrucker’s music over on Bandcamp. Find out more/keep up to date with their news by going to their Facebook Page.

Spacetrucker - Smooth Orbit (Self Released)
  • 9/10
    The Final Score - 9/10
User Rating 0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!