Album Review: Osyron – Foundations (SAOL/The Orchard)

Calgary’s Osyron has a new album on the way, the explosive and thought-provoking “Foundations” releasing on July 10, 2020 via SAOL/The Orchard.

According to the band “Foundations” is meant to be digested as an immersive exploration of Canadian history and identity, speaking on topics on the country’s colonization to the mistreatment and recognition of Aboriginals to the country’s participation in global warfare. Although it is not a conceptual release, it does bear a consistent theme across nearly the entirety of the record.

I will freely admit to knowing very little about Canada. My knowledge base extends from Bret Hart to South Park and a little bit of maple syrup in between. So, the ‘not-concept but theme’ that power-infused heavy metal band Osyron focus on is of great interest already.

Focusing on extremely questionable events and shining a light on some of the less desirable parts of their country but filtering it through a thick and sinewy metal sound, Osyron have crafted an album that really delivers.

Not just an interesting and educational history lesson (although that’s always great) but an album that gets the head-banging with ease. The solidifying drums are outstanding, the guitars shred and tear all while vocalist Reed sings his absolute heart out. Happily he has the range, reaching ear-piercing highs alongside soft mellow whispers that could comfort you to sleep.

There’s not loads to sink your teeth into here. Five tracks, or six if you include the digital edition bonus track, it’s still an album capable of drawing you in. Get close, get warm and listen to the tales told of Canada by Osyron. Then join them in a rousing edition of the national anthem (the bonus track).

Osyron – Foundations Full Track Listing:

1. The Cross
2. Ignite
3. Battle of the Thames
4. The Ones Below
5. Foundations
6. O Canada (Digital Edition – Bonus Track)

Osyron - Foundations (SAOL/The Orchard)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!