Album Review: Onslaught – Generation Antichrist (AFM Records)

Onslaught will release their long-awaited new album ‘Generation Antichrist’ through AFM Records on 7th August 2020.

Generation Antichrist will be the first album to feature new Onslaught vocalist Dave Garnett who has recently replaced long term frontman Sy Keeler. Guitarist Nige Rockett comments:

Wow, we’re stoked to finally get this new album ready to go, It’s been a huge challenge to get everything finalised in light of recent events around the the world. We’ve had to bend a few rules and do things in very unconventional ways to make it work, but we got it done.

I gotta say this is one brutal fucking record and could be a real game-changer for the future of ‘Onslaught., It’s a very earthy and extremely raw sounding album, we held back on the technology, with natural drums all round and i think Daniel Bergstrand did an unbelievable job on the mix.

Everyone really stepped up to the plate massively on ‘Generation Antichrist’ but I have to single out our new vocalist Dave Garnett for smashing the vocals out of the park. It’s an unenviable task to follow in the big shoes of Sy Keeler but he’s made this album his own and in his own very cool style, I’m sure he’s gonna be hugely popular with the fans!

A legendary status doesn’t stop there being pressure. Pressure to deliver once again especially when you’re introducing a brand-new vocalist. Pressure that Onslaught feed on and that their extensive fanbase are more than happy to relieve.

Expectations are high for Generation Antichrist but to the surprise of no-one, Onslaught meet them and more. Generation Antichrist is a thrash classic that can proudly sit amongst the band’s back catalogue.

They start with a commanding blast, building up from Rise to Power and into the thrashing wildness of Strike Fast Strike Hard. The riffs are very strong, the drumming is a constant and steady stream of fury and Garnett does absolutely smash it out of the park.

A stonking guitar solo, blazing drums and darker sound makes Bow Down to the Clowns another banger. Before Onslaught double down on the meaty meanness with the title track. An absolute raging whirlpool of battering riffs, spitfire vocals and raging percussion that few won’t love.

No complaints with the eye-watering speed of the following All Seeing Eye and Addicted to the Smell of Death either. Onslaught continually delivering glorious head-bangers that are everything you love about thrash.

They’ve definitely spent the time ensuring this album is the very best it could be. Any momentary distractions are completely forgotten by yet another gut-busting riff, snarling set of vocals, thrilling bass line or the thumping kick-drums. Empires Fall as filthy as this band gets and Religiousuicide as aggressive as ever.

You’ll not want it to end but end it must. Onslaught going out with a bang as A Perfect Day to Die caps off one of the best thrash releases in some time.

Onslaught – Generation Antichrist Full Track Listing:

1. Rise to Power
2. Strike Fast Strike Hard
3. Bow Down To The Clowns
4. Generation Antichrist
5. All Seeing Eye
6. Addicted To The Smell Of Death
7. Empires Fall
8. Religiousuicide
9. A Perfect Day To Die


Website | Facebook | Twitter | AFM Records

Onslaught - Generation Antichrist (AFM Records)
  • The Final Score - 9.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!