Album Review: microcosmys/La Torture des Ténèbres (Split) – The Gods Themselves (Xenoglossy Productions/Breathe Plastic Records)

A split release between microcosmys and La Torture des Ténèbres, The God Themselves will be released on cassette on July 13th 2018 via Xenoglossy Productions and Breathe Plastic Records.

The release is dedicated to science fiction literature pioneer Isaac Asimov and inspired by his novel “The Gods Themselves”. Both bands showcase their fascination with science fiction and the works of Asimov, conveying a sense of a space-themed loneliness and post apocalyptic disillusion, but in two radically different ways. Microcosmys with their ambient and spacey atmospheric black metal and La Torture des Ténèbres with their trademark noise-laden-yet melancholic raw black metal barrage.



microcosmys deliver three tracks of other-worldly black metal with Odeen, Dua and Tritt. A triple header of rough and raw heaviness with ambient noise. Odeen is the longer of the three and with that, a fair amount more imaginative. The atmospherics are present but way in the background, not taking focus off the bleakness of the black metal noise.

The raw and uncultivated sound of the band continues into Dua where the sharpness of the guitars makes this a song that stands out before Tritt hits harder with a traditional style black metal tempo.

A solid trio of songs.

It’s a different story with La Torture des Ténèbres offerings though. Two tracks of fast and heavy black metal that stops being a barrage of noise thanks to the morose atmospheric melodies tucked away behind the wall of noise. Far less imaginative then Microcosmys, both Next Stop; Virgo City and We Should Have Left It On The Country Station are way more appealing though. The former is incredibly fiery and relentless with its pummelling approach while the latter is so wild, so aggressive and so angry that it’s near uncomfortable to listen too. Bloody great though.

A split that literally means a split. While the bands have some things in common, namely the bleak and morose themes they couldn’t be more opposite when it comes to delivery.

microcosmys 1

Microcosmys/La Torture des Ténèbres – Full Track Listing:

1. microcosmys – Odeen
2. microcosmys – Dua
3. microcosmys – Tritt
4. La Torture des Ténèbres – Next Stop; Virgo City
5. La Torture des Ténèbres – We Should Have Left It On The Country Station

The split can be picked up via Xenoglossy Productions’ Bandcamp here and Breathe Plastic Records’ here. It can also be picked up over on microcosmys’ Bandcamp and La Torture des Ténèbres’ Bandcamp.

microcosmys/La Torture des Ténèbres (Split) - The Gods Themselves (Xenoglossy Productions/Breathe Plastic Records)
  • 7/10
    The Final Score - 7/10
User Rating 0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!