Album Review: Meridian Dawn – The Fever Syndrome (Seeing Red Records)

Picking up the baton for melodic metal and racing off, newcomers Meridian Dawn announce themselves as a new force to be reckoned within the genre. Made up of members all having some established success with other metal acts in the past, The Fever Syndrome will be released on July 10th 2020 via Seeing Red Records.

There’s no shortage of great melodic metal bands but many of those bands made their names years and years ago. The likes of At the Gates, Soilwork, Arch Enemy etc. While there are plenty of great new bands plying their trade within this style, few have risen to a higher status.

That may be about to change though with Meridian Dawn and The Fever Syndrome. A tight and concise slab of inspired melodic metal. An album with a ton of fire, a ton of hyper energy and a ton of kick-ass heaviness.

There’s little in the way of hanging about either as they absolutely burn with vehemence for a smashing Iconic and title track. Hooking in sharply and deeply, the guitars are beastly. The impact is felt though by percussion that just doesn’t stop battering away. Showcased immensely by the following With A Heavy Burden, a track with substance.

What’s quite a nice element is not having the vocals right at the front throughout. Not buried or anything but instead working comfortably in tandem with the other instruments. Not that there’s anything wrong with them, weighted towards an aggressive metal style that is scarring in its sharpness.

This album kicks all kinds of ass with God to All, Involuntary Seclusion, Luminescent and It’s All A Dream each delivering hefty offerings of metal. Music that is easy to groove too and even easier to head-bang too. Although it is nice to see the latter take its foot off the gas briefly at the start.

It stays exceptionally strong too for the very epic Thieves and the barn-burner of metal wildness that is Dressed in Ice. If you weren’t convinced by the power of the guitars, these two tracks will do the job.

Meridian Dawn – The Fever Syndrome Full Track Listing:

1. Iconic
2. Fever Syndrome
3. With A Heavy Burden
4. God to All
5. Involuntary Seclusion
6. Luminescent
7. It’s All A Dream
8. Thieves
9. Dressed In Ice




Bandcamp | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

Meridian Dawn - The Fever Syndrome (Seeing Red Records)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!