Album Review: Macabre Decay – Into Oblivion (Grind to Death Records)

Old-school death metal band, Macabre Decay will release their brand-new album, Into Oblivion on June 18th, 2021 via Grind to Death Records.

I do love a bit of OSDM, and Macabre Decay make no apologies for being the embodiment of filthy and guttural heavy noise. Why should they when they do such a great job of it? If you’re looking for innovation, look elsewhere. This is not what Into Oblivion is about. It’s simply about Macabre Decay smashing and thrashing in that unmistakable Swedish way.

Vocalist Henka Andersson (Centinex) is a man possessed here but the meat of this record comes from the blistering combination of guitars and drums. The riffs are like chainsaws tearing through the fleshy parts of humanity. The bass grinds against bone and the drums pulverise what’s left into dust.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Teeth-grittingly thick and grim stuff. There’s no winning over naysayers with this, that’s hardly the point. This is a tribute to the old-school with enough freshness here and there to make it seem more than ordinary. To call it so would be insulting to Macabre Decay as they’re far too talented to just dismiss as yet another OSDM pretender. The band line-up should tell you that anyway.

Enjoy Into Oblivion for exactly what it is. A primitive and nasty chunk of death metal that all fans of the genre can enjoy.

Macabre Decay – Into Oblivion Full Track Listing:

1. Icon
2. Impenitent Homicide
3. Into Oblivion
4. Utterly Helpless
5. The Becoming of Art
6. Altered Flesh
7. Wall of Bones
8. Last Breath
9. Beauty in Carnage
10. Kräks, Förruttnelse och Våld


Bandcamp | Facebook | YouTube | Grind to Death Records

Macabre Decay - Into Oblivion (Grind to Death Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
9.6/10 (2 votes)