Album Review: Lautreamont – Silence of the Deceased (Self Released)

Intensity is what Lautreamont bring, an extreme version of atmospheric and post black metal. Hailing from Novorossiysk, a port city on the Black Sea in Southern Russia, the trio explore decadence and dissonance on their new album Silence of the Deceased which was released on May 7th 2018.

“No boundaries and no compromises, those who have ears must hear. Just give it a listen. No tour plans for the moment but this topic is open for discussion. If we feel that we should do it – we will do it.”

Lautreamont 2

The seven tracks that make up Silence of the Deceased are a mixture of excessive extreme heaviness and sinister atmosphere. From the moment Evil (Зло) kicks things off to the moment Epitaph (Эпитафия) ends things, Silence of the Deceased is 34 minutes of twisted and complex rhythm, savage riffing and gratifyingly dark ambience.

It flies by in a blur of noise that comes so thick and fast that taking it all in on first listen is near impossible. Lautreamont have structured their music with rhythm in mind and with just a splash of groove. Unlike many other post-black/ambient metal bands Lautreamont are way more focused on the ‘metal’ side of things. The ambient sounds and effects can often disappear into the crushing assault of heaviness.

Hardly a problem though as this is an album that delivers such a fantastic vortex of intense riffs, clever twists and exciting builds. The perfect length, Silence of the Deceased will take a couple of listens to fully appreciate but it’s well worth it!

Lautreamont 1

Lautreamont – Silence of the Deceased Full Track Listing:

1. Evil (Зло)
2. Father (Отец)
3. Silence of the Deceased (Молчание мёртвых)
4. The Hour (Час)
5. Psalm (Псалом)
6. Epitaph (Эпитафия)
7. Coda (Кода)

You can pick up the album now via Bandcamp.



Lautreamont - Silence of the Deceased (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!