Album Review: King Dude – Full Virgo Moon (Ván Records)

For the past few years King Dude has been one of the most misunderstood voices in folk music. He’s been accused of everything under the sun; to some he is a violent psychopathic Satanist, to others he is a charlatan-left-leaning coward… And that’s just scratching the surface. While there are many myths surrounding him it seems true that no one can easily sum him up in a single breath. One thing is for sure, he plays uncompromising songs devoted to his craft without questioning how it will be interpreted. He doesn’t ask anyone for permission to exist in this way and refuses to back down in the face of his naysayers.

As is the tradition of folk music in it’s original form, his latest album “Full Virgo Moon” represents a “shots-fired over the line” at many of these detractors, his songs becoming pointed dagger-like anthems of the unsung theists and atheists alike. As he weaponizes his songs in this unique manner, he is quickly becoming one of the most dangerous and influential folk musicians of our times. Beware and be aware, King Dude is a force to be reckoned with.

Full Virgo Moon will be released on March 13th 2020 via Ván Records.

Poignant and with a vein of menace, Intro (A Shadow’s Theme) sets the ambient scene for King Dude’s latest work perfectly. Then dripping in melancholy, My Rose By the Sea (Satyr Boy) arrives with impact, his voice mellow but commanding and the strumming guitar adding some lightness.

Keeping things rooted in an emotional yet dark style of folk, the title track comes next in mind-blowing fashion. A wonderful piece of sadness in musical form. Before Forty Fives Say Six Six Six and The Satanic Temple plays up to the ‘satanic’ side of King Dude. The former a country style tune that has some pep and the latter wonderfully catchy and morose.

Somehow even darker and more melancholic, Forgive My Sins is on another level. Before the straightforward Make Me Blind with its edgy lyrics of “oh death you filthy whore, I crave you more and more” changes direction. In an amazing turn and reflective of King Dude’s talent, it flows perfectly into A Funeral Song for Atheists. Keeping the same rhythm and lyrics but slowing it down to a snail’s pace and adding an injection of emotional piano melody.

The brilliance of this album comes to an end with Something About You. One final deeply moving and darkness covered dejected track. Don’t be put off by the ‘folk’ tag, King Dude is an artist who has created a wonderful soundscape that will stay with you long after it is over.

King Dude – Full Virgo Moon Full Track Listing:

1. Intro (A Shadow’s Theme)
2. My Rose By The Sea (Satyr Boy)
3. Full Virgo Moon
4. Forty Fives Say Six Six Six
5. The Satanic Temple
6. Forgive My Sins
7. Make Me Blind
8. A Funeral Song For Atheists
9. Something About You


Facebook | Shop | Ván Records


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

King Dude - Full Virgo Moon (Ván Records)
  • The Final Score - 10/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)