Album Review: Iron Savior – Kill Or Get Killed (AFM Records)

The fact that Hamburg is not only the “most beautiful city in the world” but also the capital of Teutonic power metal has been well known since the late eighties. It should also be familiar to any fan of melodic, heavy sounds that Iron Savior, the band around mastermind Piet Sielck is a staple in the Hanseatic metal scene. In1996 the multi-talented artist, who has made a mark as a guitarist and producer, founded his solo project Iron Savior.

Iron Savior 2

In 2019 finally the time has come to turn over a new leaf, the metal institution will unleash the their new album ‘Kill Or Get Killed!’ Out on March 8th 2019 via AFM Records.

“We just were up for something new, and I was inspired by the book ‘The Star of Pandora’, a sci-fi novel about the destruction of humanity by an alien civilization,” explains Piet.

A galvanising traditional heavy power metal album, Iron Savior play determined and forceful metal that lifts the spirits with dramatic riffing, hyper-intensity in the drumming and exciting vocals. The title track is a tremendous start and Roaring Thunder sounds like it should be on the soundtrack of a Rocky movie or something.

Talking of an 80’s movie, From Dust to Ruble has a sci-fi movie vibe about it. It conjures up images of a dystopian city under the control of terrifying machines. The brilliance of that track is then followed by the classic metal riffing of Sinner or Saint before the brooding call to arms that is Stand Up and Fight rings out. The gang chant of the song title demands you join in.

Iron Savior’s brand of power metal is without a shadow of a doubt on the more positive and exciting end of the scale. Exactly as the lyric from Heroes Ascending suggests, passions ignite.

Keeping things concise is a great call from the band too as power metal has a habit of over-staying its welcome. Kill or Get Killed is over after just 10 tracks and what a 10 tracks it is. There are no lulls, no real respite from the bouncy upbeat metal but who would want any? The closest we get is Until We Meet Again’s moodier rhythm.

A great power metal record comes to an end with the rapid riffing of Legends of Glory and a chorus that will have everyone punching the air in unison.

Iron Savior 1

Iron Savior – Kill Or Get Killed Full Track Listing:

1. Kill Or Get Killed
2. Roaring Thunder
3. Eternal Quest
4. From Dust And Ruble
5. Sinner Or Saint
6. Stand Up And Fight
7. Heroes Ascending
8. Never Stop Believing
9. Until We Meet Again
10. Legends Of Glory

Kill or Get Killed can be ordered via AFM Records here, Spotify and Apple Music. Head over to Iron Savior’s website and Facebook Page to find out more.

Iron Savior - Kill Or Get Killed (AFM Records)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!