Album Review: Into Eternity – The Sirens (Self Released)

Founded in Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada in 1997, Into Eternity is a cornerstone in the Canadian metal scene. Into Eternity borrows from all aspects of heavy music to form the perfect blend of technicality, memorable songwriting, traditional heavy metal and the sheer savagery of metal’s extreme genres.

With extensive touring history, including sharing the stage with household names like Judas Priest, Megadeth and Arch Enemy, Into Eternity takes the listener on an epic journey; combining the jarring aggression of old school thrash and death metal, the speedy instrumental precision of shred and prog metal, with triumphant choruses and the melodies of classic metal.

Their new album ‘The Sirens’ is due out on August 3rd, 2018 and this album is their debut with new line up since 2008’s The Incurable Tragedy.

Eternity 2

Taking a hefty dollop of technical guitar elements, throwing in a dash of death metal, sprinkling in some thrash before blending it all into a classic metal paste. This is The Sirens by Into Eternity.

It’s often really easy to describe a metal album as heavy but getting across the nuances and added elements that make it such a hefty blow is another thing completely. How do you describe intricate details in the guitar rhythm, the groove of the drum beat and the style of vocals that step into an extreme style of metal?

The Sirens is an album that deserves your attention as it borders so many different genres but holds it all together nicely. Fast and exciting but delectably evil sounding when going for a harder edge.

The title track is a strong start but the chorus is a little too squeaky clean while Fringes of Psycosis does far better by keeping things on one direct path. At least until a mid-point change in direction that shows off some impressive guitar work.



Always looking to take things that extra step, Sandstorm and This Frozen Hell howl with impressive pace. The guitars and drums played at a bone-crunching speed. Add soaring vocals to the mix and we have a duo of tracks that showcase the strength of Into Eternity.

Unfortunately things take a step back with bland and boring ballad, Nowhere Near. A track that just never seems to end.

That misstep is corrected for the insane, finger-bleeding riffing and soloing of Devoured by Sarcopenia and the epic Fukushima. The latter is a great finale so it’s disappointing to get a couple of minutes of folk-ish melody in The Scattering of Ashes Pt. 2 to end things.

Overall though, a quality listen.

Eternity 1

Into Eternity – The Sirens Full Track Listing:

1. The Sirens
2. Fringes of Psychosis
3. Sandstorm
4. This Frozen Hell
5. Nowhere Near
6. Devoured by Sarcopenia
7. Fukushima
8. The Scattering of Ashes Pt. 2

Head over to Into Eternity’s website to find out more and order the album via Bandcamp. You can check them out on Facebook and YouTube.

Into Eternity - The Sirens (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!