Album Review: Imminence – Heaven In Hiding (Arising Empire)

Fronted by vocalist and violinist Eddie Berg, with guitarists Harald Barrett & Alex Arnoldsson, drummer Peter Hanström and bass player Christian Höijer, Imminence are one of the fastest growing prospects in metalcore, with their cinematic and captivating sound.

Their brand-new album ‘Heaven In Hiding’ sees the band delve deep into themselves, tacking heavy issues such as depression and self-reflection. Heaven In Hiding also serves as the perfect follow on to their highly acclaimed previous albums, The Sickness (2015) This Is Goodbye (2017).

As campaigners for mental health awareness, the band work with Swedish organisation Suicide Zero, by running campaigns and raising money for them, and will continue to do so on this campaign.

Heaven in Hiding will be released on November 26th, 2021 via Arising Empire.

Be taken away. Drift into a cinematic soundscape, where nothing is muted, and everything comes at you with a sharpness that hurts your eyes and ears. Lose yourself in a cushion of contemplation and reflection, where peacefulness is but a false sense of security as Imminence drag you down with hard and harsh metalcore.

The combination and unity of these feelings makes for a powerful listen. One that oozes passion and more importantly, authenticity. The subtle use of cinematic effects is impressive but it’s the prominent use of a violin that is mind-blowing. Imminence don’t jam it in, instead they make it a major part of their sound all while still delivering a savage metalcore beatdown.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Imminence’s modern brand of heaviness is very exciting but it’s also extremely thought-provoking. It’s music that needs to sit, that needs time to permeate the senses and fully take effect. One listen to what is a mammoth epic and a marathon listen just isn’t enough, but there’s no way anyone is going to get through the 13 tracks on offer here and not immediately want to hit play again… and again.

It’s not necessarily an album that you need to listen to in full, you can pick and choose tracks to listen to in a bubble. Ghost, Chasing Shadows, Alleviate, and Lost and Left Behind are 4 good examples of what Imminence do so very well. However, a ‘beginning to end’ listen has so much more impact, especially as it’s the melodic nuances that will be remembered long afterwards.

Though, regardless of all the wonderous cinematic touches (stuff that adds a grandiose modern cleanliness), moving melodies and violin led beauty, it’s the metal that often cuts through. Maybe it’s because they can be so savage and it can come from unexpected places or maybe it’s because they’re so damn good at it. Simply put, you will be emotionally affected by this album but you’ll also find more than enough reasons to lose your mind to it too.

Imminence – Heaven in Hiding Full Track Listing:

1. I am become a name…
2. Ghost
3. Temptation
4. Surrender
5. Chasing Shadows
6. Moth to a Flame
7. Alleviate
8. Enslaved
9. Disappear
10. Lost and Left Behind
11. این نیز بگذرد
12. ∞
13. Heaven in Hiding



Imminence - Heaven In Hiding (Arising Empire)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
9.31/10 (34 votes)