Album Review: House by the Cemetery – Rise Of The Rotten (Pulverised Records)

Swedish chainsaw division House By the Cemetery unleashes its debut offering with Rise Of The Rotten. Out on April 23rd 2021 via Pulverised Records.

House by the Cemetery, comprising of Sweden’s busiest death metal overlord Rogga Johansson, Monstrosity frontman Mike Hrubovcak and Paganizer drummer Matthias Fiebig, are paying homage to the Fulci-directed cult horror film from 1981. All while sticking to the tried and tested 90’s death metal formula.

This is a fun idea. Especially if you know the movie in question. A Fulci classic, the level of violence and gore saw it take its place on the UK’s infamous video nasty list in the 80s. The perfect inspiration for some old-school dirty death metal. Which is exactly what House by the Cemetery deliver, led by the unmatched vocal performance of the legend that is Mike Hrubovcak. Who, unsurprisingly, is spitting up blood and guts here.

Although he is far from alone on making the 9 tracks of this album sound so damn beastly. Rogga Johansson taking on both bass and guitar duties and Matthias Fiebig smashing the living shit out of the drums.

The trio are on top form and this album is every bit the smash-mouth experience it should be.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Dripping in horror vibes, as it should be, elements of the infamous movie are told through the medium of furious death metal. From the killer Rise of the Rotten to the twisted March of the Undead, there’s no surprises here but there doesn’t need to be. This is exactly what it promises to be, a granite slab of heaviness dropped on heads from a great height. The resulting eruption of blood, bone, cartilage and brain matter, par for the course for such a horrific tale.

House by the Cemetery – Rise of the Rotten Full Track Listing:

1. Rise of The Rotten
2. Contagious Madness
3. Crematory Whore
4. Defleshed By the Seasons
5. A Morbid Scent
6. Into the Murky Depths
7. Eaten by The Horrid
8. The Wretched One
9. March of The Undead


Bandcamp | Pulverised Records


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

House by the Cemetery - Rise Of The Rotten (Pulverised Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)