Album Review: Hitten – Triumph & Tragedy (High Roller Records)

Spanish heavy metal/hard rock band Hitten are back with their brand-new album entitled ‘Triumph & Tragedy’. Due to be released on November 26th, 2021 via High Roller Records.

Says vocalist Alexx Panza:

Triumph & Tragedy talks about fate, about destiny, about faith. You never know where the path you chose will lead you, it might be triumph, it might be tragedy. Every day we make choices and every day we have to deal with the choices we made … That’s just the way it goes … but don’t be scared of the path that is more tortuous, just keep on following your own direction, and be wary of the easy way … you never know what you’ll find at the end.

Get your comfortable shoes on, you’re going to need them.

Hitten’s new album is a mover. An album packed with positive messages and relatable, realistic ambitions. An album packed with energetic metal riffing, top-shelf hard rock hooks, screaming solos and classic, soaring vocals.

It’s got a familiarly about it and you can’t help but think if this had been released in the late 70s or early 80s, Hitten would be sitting alongside the likes of Whitesnake, Def Leppard, Judas Priest and so on. It certainly fits in that era but… and this is really important, it’s not defined by that time period.

Buy Me a Coffee at

It’s not an album that sounds dated. A modern production and confident approach makes what Hitten are doing so very natural. Not only that, they come across incredibly authentic and even more believable. You’ll be shocked to know this is the music coming out of this band in 2021 but you won’t be unhappy about it.

Ten slabs of heavy metal and hard rocking tunes, from beginning to end, Hitten put a smile on faces. From the fiery speed of Built to Rock to the epic heavy metal ballad that is Meant to Be Mean to the moody, melodic Core of the Flame and the power-driven head-banger that is the title track. This is an album that doesn’t stop moving and while your initial interest may not be high, come the end, few won’t be thoroughly satisfied by what Hitten have brought to see out 2021.

Hitten – Triumph & Tragedy Full Track Listing:

1. Built to Rock
2. Eyes Never Lie
3. Meant to Be Mean
4. Hard Intentions (Secret Dancer)
5. Ride Out the Storm
6. Core of the Flame
7. Under Your Spell
8. Light Beyond the Darkness
9. Something to Hide
10. Triumph & Agony


Spotify | Bandcamp | Facebook | Instagram | YouTube


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Hitten - Triumph & Tragedy (High Roller Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
8.8/10 (2 votes)