Album Review: Graveshadow – Ambition’s Price (M-Theory Audio)

California based symphonic/gothic-metal band Graveshadow, will release their 2nd full-length album, Ambition’s Price, on April 13th via M-Theory Audio.

Graveshadow 2

The gothic tone of Ambition’s Price happily doesn’t distract from the symphonic metal goodness of Graveshadow’s new album. A mix of soaring female vocals, guttural flashes and thumping metal rhythm.

There’s plenty of catchy bounce and uplifting highs in the likes of Widow and the Raven, the title track and Hero of Time. The latter certainly has some of the Nightwishs about it. Not over-doing it on the symphonic side of things, the focus is weighted towards the excellent vocals and head-bangingly exciting riffs.

The latter half of the album improves things even more with The Unspoken being the highlight of the entire album thanks to the wicked jumps between melody and heaviness. In fact the best moments that come tend to be when Graveshadow keep the tempo high. This does mean that the final track, Eden Ablaze is a bit of a disappointing finish especially following on from the excellent Warchief.

That being said Graveshadow do leave their mark, no easy task in a sub-genre that often doesn’t really have much in the way of imagination.

Graveshadow 1

Graveshadow – Ambition’s Price Full Track Listing:

1. Doorway to Heaven
2. Widow and the Raven
3. Ambition’s Price
4. Hero of Time
5. Gates
6. The Unspoken
7. Return to Me
8. Slave
9. Liberator
10. Warchief
11. Eden Ablaze

You can order the album via M-Theory Audio here as well as merchandise over on Bandcamp. Find out more/keep up to date with news via Graveshadow’s website, Facebook Page, Twitter and Instagram. Listen to the released songs so far via Apple Music below and watch some of their videos via YouTube.

Graveshadow - Ambition's Price (M-Theory Audio)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
5 (1 vote)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.