Album Review: Gorilla – Treecreeper (Heavy Psych Sounds)

Formed in the late 90’s by Sarah Jane and Johnny Gorilla, the trio that is Gorilla have relentlessly delivered their own brand of “fuck the safety net” heavy rock’n’roll, either on previous records ‘Maximum Riff Mania’, ‘Gimme Some…’ and ‘Rock Our Souls’, or kicking out the jams live at Roadburn, Desertfest, Metal Brew with the likes of Fu Manchu, Nebula, Colour Haze, Orange Goblin, Bang, Firebird, Hawkwind, Leaf Hound, Blue Cheer and many others.

Gorilla have never failed from their mission to deliver hard’n’heavy, straight from the heart, non-bullshit rock, and rest assured: they never will!

‘Treecreeper’ is Gorilla’s first full length album since 2007’s ‘Rock Our Souls’ and will be out June 21st 2019 on Heavy Psych Sounds.


Gorilla start hot and heavy and across 9 tracks barely pause for breath, instead firing off a number of dirty, angry, energetic and moody rock numbers that have some serious rawness to them.

It’s one such track, Scum of the Earth that lays all of that out immediately for a groovy and hard rocking level of wildness. Gruff and scratchy vocals, fast-paced riffing and fuzzy percussion.

Cyclops is a more mood-altering track, slower paced with echoing vocals and rhythm, every soon often bursting into flame. It shows off a wider range that Gorilla have hidden in them and the frantic second half is as exciting as anything found on the album as a whole.

Mind you a a sudden flash of harmonica on Gorilla Time Rock n Roll is a hell of a lot of fun too.

Moodiness returns for the bass heavy title track, the build and drop standing out. Mad Dog is the longest track on the album but showcases some incredible riffing especially as the heavy side of the band rise from the ashes.

The moodier tracks are good but the real quality lies when Gorilla just let rip with their driven hard rock sound such as on Ringo Dingo, Terror Trip and bonus CD track, Last in Line. Wrapped up nicely with punkiest sounding track of the bunch, Killer Gorilla.


Gorilla – Treecreeper Full Track Listing:

1. Scum Of The Earth
2. Cyclops
3. Gorilla Time Rock n Roll
4. Treecreeper
5. Mad Dog
6. Ringo Dingo
7. Terror Trip
8. Last In Line (CD Bonus Track)
9. Killer Gorilla




Bandcamp | Facebook | Label Facebook

Gorilla - Treecreeper (Heavy Psych Sounds)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!