Album Review: Excalion – Emotions (Scarlet Records)

Emotions is the new − fifth − album from Power Metal veterans Excalion. Following the highly acclaimed ‘Dream Alive’, this new masterpiece from the Finnish power force takes you on a journey through hate and trust, sorrow and joy.

‘Emotions’ drives Excalion to new extremes in their music. Every song tells its own story, reflecting a singular emotion through the means of vibrant, melodic, and even aggressive metal. It will be released on September 27th 2019 via Scarlet Records.


Like all good power metal releases, Excalion’s Emotions is a punchy, bouncy and excitable affair. Nine tracks (Ten including the bonus track) of fun, sometimes feel-good epics with bundles of energy.

All expressed through the medium of powerful guitar riffing, strong melodic vocals that go high, emotionally charged lows and everything in between. The double of Trust and Sunshine Path smash it out of the park immediately. If you don’t have a big smile on your face after these, something may be very wrong with you.

They love to shred and solo away with their guitars, Lost Control blazing with power metal glory. The Golden Horde’s punchy and chuggy call to arms, The Mercy Arms foot-taping and head banging high tempo bounce

While of course we do get plenty of more melodic moments too such as Solitude’s lengthy drawl. Or the soft ballad that is I Left My Heart At Home and the melodramatic Callsigns. Both serve to split the album up of the faster, higher tempo power stuff well.

As power metal albums go, Emotions ticks all the right boxes and is enjoyable although it’s not exactly mind-blowing.


Excalion – Emotions Full Track Listing:

1. Trust
2. Sunshine Path
3. Lost Control
4. Solitude
5. Nightmariner
6. The Golden Horde
7. I Left My Heart At Home
8. The Mercy Racers
9. Call Signs
10. Deep Water (Bonus Track)


Website | Spotify | Facebook | YouTube | Scarlet Records

Excalion - Emotions (Scarlet Records)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)