Album Review: Dødsferd – Diseased Remnants Of A Dying World (Transcending Obscurity Records)

Greek black metal band Dødsferd have been toiling hard in the underground, releasing albums with untainted passion and bold vision. Be it their raw black metal sound that they started off with, or their excursion into DSBM and black/punk styles, they’ve maintained that all along. On their latest album, they’ve further refined the sound and take the best elements from everything that they’ve been known for and much more.

Diseased Remnants of a Dying World will be released on December 14th 2018 via Transcending Obscurity Records.

Dødsferd 2


Anguish, hopelessness and contempt are just three words that come to mind as Dødsferd take us on a trip into their world of bleak, unnaturally lit and despairing sounds.

Diseased Remnants of a Dying World might only be five tracks long but it comes in at over 50 minutes. That’s because Dødsferd’s wrath can’t be summed up in short songs. Be it the impressive depressive tones of My Father, My Wrath or the feral nature of An Existance Without a Purpose. The black metallers take their time to get their point across.

The former of the two really nails the abject feeling of hopelessness that transform into a roar of defiance! While the latter is a faster, more expected take on black metal. Both equally good but both with equally differing qualities.

Happily this is not a ‘throw everything at the wall and see what sticks’ kind of album. Dødsferd have crafted and complied a set of songs that are exceptionally well put together.

After a really anguish driven pair, things don’t get any lighter or easier on the ears with the title track. Coming in at over 15 minutes long it’s a volatile listen that doesn’t stick rigidly to one thing or another. One minute we’ve got inspiring riffs sitting behind deeply morose rhythm and the next the tempo shifts with hate and scorn being poured on you from a great height.

If you’ve managed to get through that then the howls that greet on Loyal to the Black Oath might be too much for some. The rhythm is not rooted in black metal strictly though as a pretty impressive guitar solo shows.

The experience that Dødsferd have provided here comes to an end with the ticking of a clock, ominous rumbling and a scratchy violin while words filled with horror are spat out every so often. It’s a truly uncomfortable finale but so fitting for this band.

Dødsferd 1

Dødsferd – Diseased Remnants of a Dying World Full Track Listing:

1. My Father, My Wrath!
2. An Existence Without Purpose
3. Diseased Remnants of a Dying World
4. Loyal to the Black Oath
5. Back to My Homeland…My Last Breath



The album can be ordered via Bandcamp and via Transcending Obscurity Records here. Find out more/keep up to date with news by checking out the band’s Facebook Page.

Dødsferd - Diseased Remnants Of A Dying World (Transcending Obscurity Records)
  • 9/10
    The Final Score - 9/10
User Rating 5 (1 vote)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!