Album Review: Devast – Apocalyptic Human Extinction (Gore House Productions)

(Edit: Since this review was written Devast have written a lengthy post regarding issues with the album that they are blaming on the label. You can read it yourself & make up your own mind over on their Facebook page).

From the moment Chaotic Proliferation kicks in you know exactly what you’re gonna get here. This is 22 minutes of brutal assault, an absolute battering that you just can’t get enough off. This is disgustingly, glorious brutal death metal played fast & very heavy.

It’s hard to distinguish one song from another but it doesn’t really matter as this album can be viewed as one long attack. An attack that leaves you bloodied & bruised but very satisfied.

Realistically if you haven’t got a taste for this kind of aggressive death metal you’re not going to get much out of this. It’s wall of noise is made up some of the most guttural vocals I’ve heard in quite some time, hard-hitting guitars that stand out strongly thanks to the decent production & shattering drum beats.

The pace is kept fairly consistent throughout but every so often (at the end of Apocalyptic Human Extinction I & during Chapter of Neverending Torment) it will drop into a deeper gut-wrenching beat that will get the neck muscles moving instantly.

It’s over almost as quickly as it begun. Hardly a complaint as this level of sonic assault can only be sustained for so long! This is a hard punch to the gut, the initial feeling of messiness disappearing as your mind adjusts to try & keep up. It’s not going to change the death metal world but definitely gives hope for the future.

Full Track Listing:

  1. Intro
  2. Chaotic Proliferation
  3. Mass Pandemia of Corpses
  4. Apocalyptic Human Extinction I
  5. Chapter of Neverending Torment
  6. Triumphal Colossal Devastation
  7. Apocalyptic Human Extinction II
  8. Catasthrophic Beast Spawn
  9. Cataclysmic Cycle
  10. Apocalyptic Human Extinction III

Wed like to thank Devast & FullBlast! PR for providing us with a copy of the album for this review. You can buy the bands music over on Bandcamp & pick up this album over at Gore House Productions. If you want to know more about the band you can check them out on Facebook, Myspace & on YouTube.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Devast - Apocalyptic Human Extinction (Gore House Productions)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
8/10 (1 vote)
Comments Rating 0/10 (0 reviews)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *