Album Review: Depravity – Evil Upheaval (Transcending Obscurity Records)

Death metal was meant to be an assault on the senses, enter Depravity from Australia. They show how it is done, playing devastating death metal without straying from the genre’s roots. Evil Upheaval is out on April 30th 2018 via Transcending Obscurity Records.

Depravity 2

Nine tracks of vile and fiery death metal, Depravity’s Evil Upheaval is an album for the old-school fan base of extreme music. Manic Onslaught makes sure you know just how destructive a listen this album is with its drum savagery, screeching riffs and horrifying vocals.

It’s an intense opening but not without rhythmic merit something that the excellent Insanity Reality shows off afterwards.

Depravity serve as reminder of just how devastating death metal can be especially with the right production as Evil Upheaval is expertly put together. Tracks like Repugnant, The Great Divide, Tormented and the title track are simply fantastic slabs of metal.

This brilliant effort closes out with one last middle finger to anyone who doesn’t enjoy extreme music as Vile Defloration shows off a wealth of imagination with its dark riffs and goose bump inducing riffs.



Depravity 1

Depravity – Evil Upheaval Full Track Listing:

1. Manic Onslaught
2. Insanity Reality
3. Repugnant
4. Despondency
5. The Great Divide
6. Victimizer
7. Tormented
8. Evil Upheaval
9. Vile Defloration

You can order the album over on Bandcamp and via Transcending Obscurity Records here. Find out more and keep up to date with news by liking Depravity’s Facebook Page.

Depravity - Evil Upheaval (Transcending Obscurity Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *