Album Review: Cancer Bats – The Spark That Moves (Self Released)

Canadian hardcore mob, Cancer Bats have dropped a surprise album, their first for 3 years. The Spark That Moves sees the band going it alone, no record label. A brave move and one that pays off as Cancer Bats have delivered a truly memorable release.

Cancer Bats 1

The first thing that comes to mind as Gatekeeper comes screaming out of the house with its hair on fire is just how re-energised the band sound. It’s a blazing start with the pace being kept up for the entire 11 track run.

Energetic riffs and hair-raising vocals make this an absolute treat. We Run Free’s fiery pace and vocal barks is amazing. A rabble-rouser if ever there was one and you can envision the circle pits that this track will kick off.

Then there is the likes of Space and Time and Fear Will Kill Us All, a pair of tracks that have plenty of old-school metal about them. The former a riff-fest.

This is the sound of advancement. It’s up there as their most accessible work yet. The sound of a band stepping beyond their earlier hardcore roots but without abandoning it completely.

Look no further then Rattlesnake and Can’t Sleep for ferocious injections of hardcore pace. When Cancer Bats let rip, nothing stands in their way! An essential Cancer Bats album finishes up with Winterpeg. A track all about squealing guitars and plenty of punk-attitude.

Cancer Bats 2

Cancer Bats – The Spark That Moves Full Track Listing:

1. Gatekeeper
2. Brightest Day
3. We Run Free
4. Space and Time
5. Bed of Nails
6. Headwound
7. Fear Will Kill Us All
8. Rattlesnake
9. Can’t Sleep
10. Heads Will Roll
11. Winterpeg

[amazon_link asins=’B07BQMX34D,B07BLJ1P7D,B07BF39RMM,B007AOS9SY’ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’60f885f1-45e4-11e8-ac8e-39ffad6a3287′]

Check it out yourself below.

Cancer Bats - The Spark That Moves (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.