Album Review: Dee Snider – Leave A Scar (Napalm Records)

In 2018, legendary heavy metal vocalist and pop culture pillar Dee Snider turned the heavy music world on its axis with his transformative full-length, For The Love Of Metal. Produced by Hatebreed frontman Jamey Jasta, the album re-cemented the undeniable prowess of the iconic Twisted Sister singer with its modernized mastery and take-no-prisoners attitude.

Three years later, with one of the most collectively tumultuous times society has ever experienced behind him, Dee Snider triumphantly returns with the potent full-length follow up Leave A Scar. Once again produced by Jamey Jasta, with co-production, mixing and mastering by drummer Nick Bellmore, Leave A Scar sees Dee Snider & Co. continuing in the invigorated direction of For The Love Of Metal, infusing a dose of classic heavy metal flavor that longtime fans will rush to embrace.

Leave A Scar will be released on July 30th, 2021 via Napalm Records.

Twisted Sister be damned, Dee Snider has reinvigorated his career since the legendary band called time on things. For the Love of Metal was universally loved and there’s no doubt that Leave A Scar will deliver thumping heavy metal goodness.

Kicking off with the punchy and thumping energy of I Gotta Rock (Again), it’s an uncomplicated and straight-forward head-banger that puts a smile on the face. Followed by the hyperactive metal speed of All or Nothing and Down but Never Out. A pair of defiant efforts that prove Dee Snider isn’t getting any less rebellious in his older years. Catchy, spirited and entertaining heavy metal from an artist constantly proving to be an invigorating spirit.

Buy Me a Coffee at

There’s a little bit of a shift with Before I Go. Which has a deeper heavy rhythm but focuses on a more ‘epic’ tempo and Dee nails the chorus as only he can. It’s more of the same, the quality same, with Open Season and Silent Battles. Where the constant thread of feel-good and fist in the air heavy metal vibes makes for a striking listen.

As good as Dee and his cohorts are at delivering constant and consistent bangers like what we’ve heard so far, they’re also more than capable of mixing it up with both softer and heavier efforts. Crying for Your Life is a good example of this as it begins in ballad-esque style before descending into meatier territory.

In for the Kill, Time to Choose, S.H.E., The Reckoning… the latter part of the album keeps things strong without shaking things up too much. Still thoroughly enjoyable and surprisingly, not beginning to sound stale. Testament to the talents of Dee Snider and co.

The end is here though and it’s with the unexpected grungy, moody and melodic sound of The Stand that Leave a Scar wraps up. It’s a different but strong closer that gets suitably grander as it goes on.

There’s no doubt that Leave A Scar will be another hugely successful release for Dee Snider. Going from strength to strength, his career is only getting more impressive with releases like this.

Dee Snider – Leave A Scar Full Track Listing:

1. I Gotta Rock (Again)
2. All or Nothing More
3. Down but Never Out
4. Before I Go
5. Open Season
6. Silent Battles
7. Crying for Your Life
8. In for the Kill
9. Time To Choose (ft. George “Corpsegrinder” Fisher)
10. S.H.E.
11. The Reckoning
12. Stand


Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Napalm Records

Dee Snider - Leave A Scar (Napalm Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)