Album Review: Davola – Inherent (Self Released)

Davola is one musician’s take on extreme metal from a composer’s perspective. Building on what has been done in the past and pushing the boundaries to create something that hopefully is considered original yet familiar. The end result being that of a fan simply creating the music that he wants to hear. Drawing upon many influences the likes of Lamb of God, Strapping Young Lad and Meshuggah.

Inherent was released April 2018.

An instrumental start, Iphigene’s Walk’s off-kilter guitar tone is in some contrast to the raging beast of Fatal Memories. After a thought-provoking start, Davola lets rip with a blast of death metal that is as heavy as it is threatening. Not a pair of opening tracks that are completely different, rather an introduction followed by the arrival.

Ground work laid, the album really gets going with thumping ferocity of I Am He and Chaos Inherent. The latter delivering an eye-watering level of speed that will drive every extreme metal fan wild with excitement.

To keep things flowing, we get the odd musical intermissions such as the disconcerting noise of Winter, the darkly melodic Requiem and really interesting sounding guitars of Unguarded. Laid perfectly amongst the face-melting, brain-mushing metal of Rage Inherent, Patience In Pain and Chains. Regardless of what Davola throws at the wall, it always sticks.

Davola – Inherent Full Track Listing:

1. Iphigene’s Walk
2. Fatal Memories
3. I am He
4. Winter
5. Chaos Inherent
6. Requiem
7. Rage Inherent
8. Patience In Pain
9. F.W.I.W
10. Unguarded
11. Chains




Bandcamp | Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Davola - Inherent (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)