Album Review: Corpsegrinder – Corpsegrinder (Perseverance Music Group)

On February 25th, Cannibal Corpse vocalist George “Corpsegrinder” Fisher will release his debut solo album, titled Corpsegrinder via Perseverance Music Group.

The album features a guest appearance from Erik Rutan (Cannibal Corpse, Hate Eternal) on the track “Acid Vat”. It also sees Charlie Bellmore (Dee Snider, ex-Toxic Holocaust) handle guitar and bass duties, with Nick Bellmore (Dee Snider, ex-Toxic Holocaust) on drums.

A man that should need no introduction, George “Corpsegrinder” Fisher has made his name being the long-term vocalist of legendary death metal band, Cannibal Corpse. So, with that in mind, it’s no surprise that his solo work feels cut from the same cloth. That being said, this isn’t Cannibal Corpse and the chugging groove of opener Acid Vat is testament to that. Though, the meaty and guttural roars of Corpsegrinder is certainly familiar.

Spitting a brutal level of fire, Bottom Dweller is one hell of an aggressive listen. The roar of ‘you fucking bottom dweller’ is something that you’ll feel in your gut. Whereas On Wings of Carnage takes a more methodical approach with bursts of ferocity. A track that isn’t lacking in brutality in the slightest.

Forget any semblance of order though with All Souls Get Torn. A track that has fist swinging intensity, eye-watering speed and uncompromisingly heavy drops. One of the album’s most ‘circle-pit’ inducing efforts. Before Death Is the Only Key brings guitar riffs that make you gurn and Crimson Proof brings heavy groove that makes you stomp your feet in anticipation of the pit. Anticipation that is met with aplomb.

Buy Me a Coffee at

So far, so very brutal. So, no surprises there. Though the lack of surprises shouldn’t have you questioning the quality of this album. It is, without question, a banging death metal release and further proof of that statement comes with Devourer of Souls and Defined by Your Demise. The former has an absolute shredding guitar solo.

Master of the Longest Night is the penultimate hit of death metal highs and sees Corpsegrinder batter away with all the force of a brick launched to the face. It’s a downright nasty sounding track. Which should be enough for most, but Vaguely Human has a whole sack full of bricks ready afterwards. A track that is simply Corpsegrinder 101 but with some unexpected guitar flair. A short blast but one with some serious impact.

A very impressive solo debut, Corpsegrinder isn’t moving far from what has made him a household name in the world of metal. However, it delivers something that can be thoroughly enjoyed outside of the Cannibal Corpse bubble.

Corpsegrinder – Corpsegrinder Full Track Listing:

1. Acid Vat (feat. Erik Rutan)
2. Bottom Dweller
3. On Wings of Carnage
4. All Souls Get Torn
5. Death Is the Only Key
6. Crimson Proof
7. Devourer of Souls
8. Defined by Your Demise
9. Master of the Longest Night
10. Vaguely Human


Website | Instagram


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Corpsegrinder - Corpsegrinder (Perseverance Music Group)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
4.2/10 (2 votes)