EP Review: Serpent Cobra – Beware (Helter Skelter/Regain Records)

Helter Skelter Productions (distributed & marketed by Regain Records) presents ‘Beware’ a new EP from Serpent Cobra, Beware, on 12” vinyl, and cassette tape formats.

There’s a darkness… a horrifying darkness to Serpent Cobra and their brand of NWOBHM-inspired heavy metal. It’s not exclusively old-school but it does heavily draw from the days of leather and denim.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

On Beware, the 4-piece present a moody, almost doomy, tempo that compels the head to start banging. The rhythm of Walpurgis Night possesses and the vocals deliver the commands. The title track then disrupts the flow with an unexpected 3:38 melodic instrumental that has the same notes repeated over and over again. Very confusing.



Things are brought back to a sinister high though with the last track, Bloody Countess. A rip-roaring head-banging blast of evil sounding heavy metal. Instantly washing the taste of the title track out of the mouth.

That oddity aside, Beware is a solid release that has all the old-school vibes from a band looking to give it a fresher injection.

Serpent Cobra – Beware Full Track Listing:

1. Walpurgis Night
2. Beware
3. Bloody Countess


Bandcamp | Facebook | Instagram | Regain Records | Helter Skelter


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Serpent Cobra - Beware (Helter Skelter/Regain Records)
  • The Final Score - 6/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)