Album Review: Body Count – Carnivore (Century Media Records)

Humans are animals, pretty much in denial of just how savage we can be, declares Body Count singer Ice-T. The songs on Carnivore play out that theme in different ways. It’s not about a diet; it’s about being bloodthirsty creatures.

Carnivore is the pioneering metal band’s seventh album since forming in 1992 and skyrocketing to infamy thanks to the “Cop Killer” song controversy. Carnivore is also the most melodically hardcore and lyrically articulate BC album to date.

It is out on March 6th 2020 via Century Media Records.

Continually and consistently smashing boundaries and expectations, Body Count return with a new album. Packed with the group’s trademark defiance and unwillingness to censor themselves, Carnivore gets off to a blazing start with the title track. A ferociously heavy opener, Ice-T is spitting blood with his lyrics. The smashing of instruments, hungry roars and shouts of ‘Carnivore’ are so primordial.

A frantic cover of Motörhead’s Ace of Spades, introduced as a tribute to Lenny by Ice-T is an early surprise but a welcome one. Body Count more then doing it justice with their own spin on it as there is no attempt to mimic Lemmy’s trademark raspy vocals.

With a number of guests making an appearance on this album, it’s Power Trip’s Riley Gale and Hatebreed’s Jamey Jasta up first. The former a frantically fast hardcore style tune that will cause nothing but chaos in a pit. While the latter as part of the lower-tempo, chorus driven Point the Finger with Ice-T making his barbed point with a spoken-word section near the end. Both are quite different but equally enjoyable.

In between them is the groovy Bum-Rush, a rousing and hyperactive pace delivered by guitars and drums that are on fire. Elsewhere Colors – 2020 takes no prisoners with a classy rap-metal combo and No Remorse shows once again that Body Count are up there as one of the heaviest bands today. Although it has to be said, this track does share a lot in common with the title track. Perhaps a little too similar with its brooding metal groove and shouted lyrics though. Although it’s still so damn good.

Evanescence’s Amy Lee then joins the band for a track inspired by the outcry of grief that spread throughout the world when Nipsey Hussle was murdered last year. He’s not having a go here, instead it’s simply about not waiting until someone is dead to tell them how much they mean to you. Alongside Amy Lee’s always impressive pipes, this is a sobering and thought-provoking track.

A top-drawer modern crossover album comes to a end with Thee Critical Beatdown and The Hate Is Real. The former every bit a ‘fight song’ if ever there was one. Put the weapons down and get those fists up. While the latter pulls zero punches in regards to the normalising of racism not just in America but the world. That it’s warped into the fastest track on the album is even better, this is such a banger.

The love is fake but the hate is real.

Body Count – Carnivore Full Track Listing:

1. Carnivore
2. Ace of Spades
3. Point The Finger (feat. Riley Gale)
4. Bum-Rush
5. Another Level (feat. Jamey Jasta)
6. Colors – 2020
7. No Remorse
8. When I’m Gone (feat. Amy Lee)
9. Thee Critical Beatdown
10. The Hate Is Real



Body Count - Carnivore (Century Media Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)