Album Review: Bewailer – Where My Demise Dwells (Solitude Productions)

Released on November 8th 2019, Where My Demise Dwells is an album by the Moscow duo Bewailer. It contains seven tributes to the survival of human soul within the depths of its own darkness. The key theme of the tracks is how the lyrical hero slowly goes from fierce antagonism against the hopelessness of his destiny, to a cold numbness in which he can only contemplate his own decay and indifference to all of creation. Nevertheless, a bleak glimmer of hope appears near the end of the album, a subtle glow leading to regeneration (or final demise).

Beginning with Thorngates, Bewailer reveal the darkness that lives in them with an eight-minute trawl for horror. One that is doom-fuelled but also has elements of death in it too. The maggots are feasting heartily on this festering corpse but it’s not all doom and gloom as Bewailer show off their extraneous talents that include a peppier rhythm.

Endless Falls really sees the band lean into the funeral doom, the horridly slow tempo almost dream like and the addition of female vocals adding gothic weight to the sound. The transcendence of it is met by Moonspires and its melodic grandness. The guitars are special in their own right but the spoken word segment near the end is pretty damn wonderful.

The swarm of files return for An Old Remembrance, the guttural metal side of the band delivering a more intense listen. Although it has to be mentioned that the folk-like twist makes this a track of two parts. Silent Passenger follows that with an unbelievably classy offering, the female vocals returning with a more impassioned performance. Especially as they fit so strongly on track that melds doom and lighter melodies together so well.

The penultimate track, Nocturnal Sacrifice is completely rooted in darkness. The horror of Bewailer’s hellish doom made bearable by piano, Be under no illusions though, this short segment is as dark and terrible as the metal.

Short and easily the most memorable piece of melody, Silver Lining closes out the album in impressive and depressing style. It’s emotionally wrangling yet pretty at the same time. An attractive closer to an album that certainly takes the listener on a myriad of highs and lows. Well, more lows then anything else but it just makes the moments when things are that bit more uplifting, all the better.

Bewailer – Where My Demise Dwells Full Track Listing:

1. Thorngates
2. Endless Falls
3. Moonspires
4. An Old Remembrance
5. Silent Passenger
6. Nocturnal Sacrifice
7. Silver Lining




Bandcamp | Facebook


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Bewailer - Where My Demise Dwells (Solitude Productions)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)