Album Review: Arrayan Path – The Marble Gates to Apeiron (Pitch Black Records)

The epic power metal force that is Arrayan Path returns with the band’s 8th full-length, a follow-up to 2018’s double-disc album “Archegonoi”. Titled “The Marble Gates to Apeiron”, the new album is due to be released on November 27th 2020 via Pitch Black Records.

Nicholas Leptos, the band’s driving force (also current vocalist of legendary Warlord) comments:

We worried less about doing something ‘out of the ordinary’ and more about writing good melodic metal songs. There was also more collaboration between the band members, maybe more than ever before!

Raise your fist to the air and answer the call that Arrayan Path have put out. It’s time to join them on an epic power metal quest, one fraught with danger and plenty of thrills.

A high-energy album for the most part, Arrayan Path have gone for a bombastic sound here and it pays off. The wickedness of the riffs, the power of the drums akin to the march of an army, ringing bass that gees everything up and the vocals that lead the charge with grandiose intensity. From the moment the opening title track hits, this is an epic journey few won’t want to be part of.

A bit of a tepid if not at least energetic effort in Metamorphosis momentarily drains but Arrayan Path come back in a big way with Virus and The Mourning Ghost. The former’s thumping beat and lavish melodies lifting the spirits while the latter is a darker but crunchy metal effort.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Keeping it hot and heavy but rooted in that power metal sound, To Live Another Day and The Mask of Sanity are tight offerings. Before something truly epic comes from the shadows in the form of The Cardinal Order. A chilling but heavily detailed attack of morose melodies and meandering riffs.

Still with a ton of energy running through their veins, A Silent Masquerade helps lift tired feet and encourages the muscles to push on. Before Black Sails (The Nemean Ode) wraps up the album with a grin-inducing bang. A proper chest-thumper of a finale to an album that is all about keeping the blood pumping and fists raised high to the sky.

Arrayan Path – The Marble Gates to Apeiron Full Track Listing:

1. The Marble Gates to Apeiron
2. Metamorphosis
3. Virus
4. The Mourning Ghost
5. To Live Another Day
6. The Mask of Sanity
7. The Cardinal Order
8. A Silent Masquerade
9. Black Sails (The Nemean Ode)


Facebook | Pitch Black Records

Arrayan Path - The Marble Gates to Apeiron (Pitch Black Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
7/10 (5 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!