Album Review: Acid Blood – Acid Blood (Janml Records/Maja von Lobeck)

Acid Blood is a band from Umeå, Sweden playing a mad mix of hard rock, thrash, punk and hardcore. The band started in late 2016 and released the Dagger Eyes 7″ EP in August 2017 on JanML Records/Maja Von Lobeck. You can read our review of that EP here.

Now they’re back with their debut full length self titled album. Out on June 14th 2019 via Janml Records/Maja von Lobeck.

Acid 2

Not for the faint-hearted, Acid Blood’s style of thrash metal mixed with punk and hardcore is incredibly raw. A frenzied slab of heavy, the screeching female vocals add an extra layer to a release that is all about speeding riffs and catchy anger.

It kicks off with a double header of ear-bleeding noise in the form of the title track and Bullseye. Wild and uncontrollable, the riffs come thick and fast while the vocals will raise the hairs on the back of your neck!

It doesn’t get any easier on the ears with the punkier Bleeding Out and Tombstone World although these are a real highlight of the album. Something about the fast paced groove and snarling vocals just sits right in the mind. It’s this surprising level of bouncy rhythm that also makes Wasted an absolute banger too. Vocalist Jojo Anderbygd is on another level of gleefulness here.

She is the driving force of this album alongside the riffs. Squealing and screeching loudly throughout each track turning run of the mill efforts like Harvest Day into delectable and addictive listens.

The latter half of the album gives us the excellent thump of heavy metal that is Running From A Bullet, the messy yet addictive rumbling of To the Grave and the detailed finale of Wartimes. A finish filled with all manner of body shaking groove, rock and roll style riffs and of course, vocals powerful enough to scrape flesh from bone.

Acid 1

Acid Blood – Acid Blood Full Track Listing:

1. Acid Blood
2. Bullseye
3. Bleeding Out
4. Don’t You Die
5. Tombstone World
6. Louder Than Death
7. Wasted
8. Citrus Blast
9. Harvest Day
10. Running From A Bullet
11. Waste No Time
12. To the Grave
13. Kill Screen
14. Wartimes


Label Shop | Band Facebook | YouTube | Instagram


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Acid Blood - Acid Blood (Janml Records/Maja von Lobeck)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)