Single Slam – Fakers Plague by While She Sleeps

Sheffield’s metalcore maestros, While She Sleeps, have released a brand new song called Fakers Plague via Spinefarm Records.

As well as a new song, the band also released a new music video. Not one to stand still or afraid to express their creative side, that video was released as an “immersive, holographic music experience” to a small group of fans at an undisclosed location in Sheffield. The video has been released in both full 360 degrees 3D and also 2D. For a limited time, purchases of Fakers Plague from the official While She Sleeps store will also see buyers receive a phone sized prism that allows you to view the video as it was intended. That’s a little different.

While She Sleeps last released music in March this year. That was the album titled So What?. You can read our full thoughts on it here. We also attended the launch party at a huge show in London. Read about that here. Pretty much every writer here at GBHBL would class themselves as a fan of While She Sleeps. As such, any announcement from the band, especially one regarding new music is lapped up gratefully.

Fakers Plague - While She Sleeps

This song was definitely a surprise. I doubt anyone was expecting new music from the While She Sleeps camp in 2019 but here we are. Guitarist, Sean Long, explains a little more on why this song appeared below.

“This song is a celebration of the end of an extremely difficult personal time within While She Sleeps. We all had a lot of anger building up within us and it was amazing for us to come together and express it through music. Everyone in life has a beautiful side and an ugly side, it’s how we all react and deal with these polarities of life that makes us human. No one is perfect and we certainly aren’t. Let’s embrace it together.”

Fakers Plague is just short of 6 minutes long and I am quite torn on it. I like it, there are some really great moments but there are bits I am not a fan of, especially that weird scratchy techno start. What is that all about? It does descend from there into a banging, bouncy riff with some strong vocals. The verses are strong with some of Sleeps familiar harmonised vocals. The chorus is good and catchy and there is a nice mix of clean singing and shouted vocals. It doesn’t always flow brilliantly though occasionally feeling a little messy but I kind of like the anarchic feeling that gives off.

There is another part I am not keen on as the second verse ends, it drops back into weird techno effects and sampling. I don’t like that and feel it sucks energy from the fast pace of the song. It again comes back strong from it with a crunchy riff and aggressive vocals. A cleanly sung chorus follows that sounds beautiful and builds nicely into a heavier chorus. There are some really cool lead guitar lines in the background as well. The song ends into 90 seconds of unexpected stuff really with weird noises, samples and cut off yells. It works in the video. It should have been cut from the main song release though.

So overall, I like it I think. The verses and chorus are great. there is a real bouncy rhythm and riff and I love some of the lead guitar lines. I just don’t particularly like the little interrupting sampling, the little techno styled effects or the ending (when listening outside of the video). I find it ruins the flow of what should have been a really catchy song. Instead, it is an interesting song with some great moments and some odd ones. Kind of makes me feel like sometimes you can have too many ideas and restraint can be just as important as creativity in formulating a brilliant song. Good, not great though.

While She Sleeps are out touring the UK and Europe in 2020 with Every Time I Die and Vein. Get your tickets here.

While She Sleeps UK/Europe tour 2020


16 France, Paris Cabaret Sauvage
17 Belgium, Brussels AB Box
18 Germany, Cologne Live Music Hall
19 Germany, Munich Backstage Werk
21 Switzerland, Solothurn Kofmehl
22 Germany, Wiesbaden Schlachthof
23 Netherlands, Amsterdam Melkweg
24 UK, London O2 Academy Brixton
26 UK, Manchester Academy

While She Sleeps Links

WebsiteFacebookTwitterInstagramYouTubeWebstoreSpinefarm Records

Fakers Plague by While She Sleeps
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)