Music News: Thirteenth Sign Announce New Album On The Way!

Thirteenth Sign are a Melodic Death / Thrash metal band based in Nottingham, UK who have shared the stage with heavy weights such as Napalm Death & Savage Messiah to name a few and have performed at Hammerfest.

After finishing their 3rd album ‘Evolutions End’, Thirteenth Sign immediately set about working on the next album. The band decided to take a more epic direction with album no. 4 and so decided to push their creativity harder and heavier than ever!

Taking their passion for Queensryche’s classic 1988 concept album ‘Operation: Mindcrime’ as inspiration, Thirteenth Sign focused on the idea of writing a concept album of their own, in a similar vein to the Queensryche album, but making sure it retained their own distinct sound. ‘The Ashes of a Treacherous Silence’ uses lyrics based upon the true story of some of Britain’s most notorious serial killers. However, the album doesn’t focus on the actual killings but delivers an insight into what lead them to commit such evil crimes. The 12 crushing tracks cover neglect, domestic violence, depression, suicide, and betrayal interlaced with beautiful orchestration and haunting soundscapes.

During the writing process, three band members that had performed on ‘Evolutions End’ left the band leaving the only two remaining original members: Lloyd Stringer on drums and Chris Hubbard on rhythm guitar. New members Dale Stringer (lead guitar), Dave Thomas (Bass) and Reno Ramos (Vocals) were gradually introduced and brought their individual talents and creative ideas into the writing process.

By the end of 2019, writing was completed, and it was time to begin recording, once again with long-term producer Matt Moore. Recording began mid-February 2020. Drums were recorded at The Pig Shed Studios in Derbyshire and rhythm guitar at 3A Audio in Stamford.

Despite the onslaught of Covid-19, the band were able to continue recording the remainder of the album during lockdown at their relevant home studios and by the end of July 2020, the album was fully complete!

Thirteenth Sign’s forthcoming album ‘The Ashes of a Treacherous Silence’ will be released on October 2nd, 2020!

The album was recorded during the 2020 lockdown by Matt Moore and Lloyd Stringer whilst Dave Thomas and Reno Ramos recorded their own respective parts. The album has been produced, mixed, and mastered by Matt Moore and Lloyd Stringer. The artwork for the album has been created by Lloyd Stringer.

Track listing:
1. WN-3617
2. Bond of Wicked Blood
3. Impulse Control
4. Electric Hammer
5. Demons Within
6. Locked in a Deadly Embrace
7. The Spiders Web
8. Walls of Jericho
9. Bone Collector
10. Leech
11. The Perpetual Darkness
12. Ashes for Eternity
13. Silent Witness
14. The Scars of Betrayal

Thirteenth Sign are:
Chris Hubbard – Rhythm Guitar
Reno Ramos – Vocals
Dale Stringer – Lead Guitar
Lloyd Stringer – Drums
Dave Thomas – Bass



Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!