EP Review: TREP – Lucian (Self Released)

Formed in 2017, TREP are a 3-piece heavy rock band (with metal & prog elements) from Cardiff, South Wales. The band pits an overall commercial approach against progressive song structures and story-based lyrics.

After the initial welcoming of TREPs’ Silence the Crows demo in July 2017, the band re-released as a single in January 2019 to accompany the release of their full EP, Lucian on the 18th March 2019. It will be the first of two EPs that will combine to create a fictional story of a future that may come to be.


The progressive groovy heaviness of Silence the Crows gets TREP’s debut EP started strongly as it lays down the gauntlet for the remainder of the record. A bit rocky, a bit heavy, a bit melodic but all kinds of groovy goodness. An exciting start that certainly marks TREP out as being their own beast.

The Time You Have Lost is more focused on the melodious elements of the band especially within the vocals and crooning that takes place in the background. It’s not as strong as the opener but more then holds its own.

The next two tracks on the EP are certainly where it’s at though as It’ll Never Happen and Architect showcase what TREP are truly capable of. The former filled with all manner of groovy riffs while the latter shows off some invention in how to be heavy without smashing apart the beat.

A very good debut ends with Better World, one final groove-tastic mix of heavyweight riffs, melody driven and powerful vocals.


Trep – Lucian Full Track Listing:

1. Silence the Crows
2. The Time You Have Lost
3. It’ll Never Happen
4. Architect
5. Better World



To coincide with the release of the EP, TREP will be embarking on their first UK tour in March 2019. The band are also taking part in the Bristol Metal 2 The Masses to win the chance of playing at Bloodstock 2019.


You can pick up Silence the Crows now over on Bandcamp where the EP will also be available. Find out more and keep up to date with TREP news by liking their Facebook Page, following them on Instagram and Twitter. Check out their videos too over on YouTube.

TREP - Lucian (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!