EP Review: Ripper – Sensory Stagnation (Unspeakable Axe Records)

Following the release of their acclaimed second full-length, Experiment of Existence, Chile’s premier thrash band Ripper are back with their first new material in three years. Sensory Stagnation feels like a continuation and evolution of the band’s established sound.

Sensory Stagnation is coming September 30th on CD, cassette and digital platforms from Unspeakable Axe Records, with a vinyl release to follow from Dark Descent Records.

Sensory Stagnation

Letting us know exactly what they have in store for us with Dissociation, the guitar heavy intro screams thrash and it’s easy to tell that this is them restrained.

The restraint is gone for The Unreal though, the robust thrash riffs inspired by the early days of the sub-genre bursting forth with intent. Their South American roots makes it easy to link them to the thrash pioneers but there’s no disputing Ripper are doing things their own way. It’s tough, rough and hammered home with the precision of a sharpshooter.

The title track and Like A Sacrilege keep the fire burning brightly, both built on a foundation of roaring riffs and scowling vocals. A grand showcase of thrash brutality and one few will recover from easily. All before Terror Streets batters the walls of any leftover resistance well and truly down.

Thrashing madness.


Ripper – Sensory Stagnation Full Track Listing:

1. Dissociation
2. The Unreal
3. Sensory Stagnation
4. Like A Sacrilege
5. Terror Streets




Bandcamp | Facebook

Ripper - Sensory Stagnation (Unspeakable Axe Records)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!