EP Review: Layover – Your Laughter Never Leaves (Fox Records)

Your Laughter Never Leaves formally marks layover’s return, having gone on hiatus in 2016. This 2018 version of the band can be considered a clean slate. The EP will be released on May 4th 2018 via Fox Records.

Vocalist Luke Rainsford explains: “The sound of our old music does not represent us, and we have matured as musicians and people since then. We come with a new direction to start in a genre we are more passionate about.”

Layover 2

Five tracks of pop-punk/emo tunes, Your Laughter Never Leaves by Layover is a catchy affair. It needs to be though as it’s a familiar sound that doesn’t have much in the way of oomph to it.

Not that it’s a letdown, far from it. Those looking for their pop-punk fix will find plenty to enjoy here especially as Layover have a habit of changing from easy rhythm to a bit more complex tones. It makes for a more varied and interesting listen and is reminiscent of the likes of Taking Back Sunday and Funeral For A Friend.

Hunger Pains is a solid opener but it’s the really short combo of Coffee and Fluixetine & Hollow Me Out that grabs the attention. The latter’s minute and a half length is all about driving guitar work and a catchy drum beat.

However Slumber is the standout track of the EP. A track that is dripping in passion. The powerful vocals and impressive melodies make for a really memorable listen.

Layover’s effort ends with one final push to be remembered as a future great within the genre and going off the catchiness that Your Laughter Never Leaves has, it’s not an impossible task.



Layover 1

Layover – Never Leaves Full Track Listing:

1. Hunger Pains
2. Coffee and Fluoxetine
3. Hollow Me Out
4. Slumber
5. Your Laughter Never Leaves

You can order the EP on CD/Vinyl via Fox Records here and digitally via Bandcamp here. It will also be available via major streaming services and you can check out the lead single, Slumber below. Find out more/keep up to date with news by liking their Facebook Page and following them on Twitter and Instagram.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Layover - Your Laughter Never Leaves (Fox Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *