EP Review: Komodor – Komodor (Soulseller Records)

Soulseller Records is proud to announce the first release of French psychedelic rockers Komodor!

Inspired by MC5, James Gang, Grand Funk Railroad and many more, Komodor invite you to their journey through Rock’n’Roll! Their self-titled 4-track EP features guest appearances by the entire Blues Pill band, whose bassist Zack Anderson even recorded the four songs.

The EP will be released on January 11th 2019.

Komodor 2

The foot starts tapping, the hand starts to move, the head starts to nod and before you know it the upbeat rock and roll sensibilities of Komodor have fully infected you. A bouncing beat with a layer of fuzz and distortion over the guitars and vocals sets the four-tracker up nicely as Still the Same brings some funkiness to the tune.

A memorable start. Join the Band then takes us even further back to a time when catchy rock and roll ruled the world. A moody drop in pace and tone at the midway point see Komodor stretch their musical muscles though. The fuzziness really taking hold of the bass while the guitars screech out.

The momentum halts a little on the following Nasty Habits though. The faster pace of the chorus can’t make up for the slower verses but a last-minute flurry helps pull it back from the brink. Wrapping up with the driven and hip-shaking 1984, Komodor’s debut release will certainly turn a few heads. Especially with the increasing popularity of an old-school rock and roll sound. They look to have arrived at the right time.

Komodor 1

Komodor – Komodor Full Track Listing:

1. Still the Same
2. Join the Band
3. Nasty Habits
4. 1984

Head over to Soulseller Records to order the EP here and find out more about Komodor via their Facebook.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Komodor - Komodor (Soulseller Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)