EP Review: Katapult – A Fistful of Truth (Self Released)

Katapult is the bastard child of Florian Moritz (Arcturon) and Johan Norström (Terrortory) and was born in a backstage area in Sweden in the summer of 2017. As everyone knows, not many bands born in backstage areas survive their infancy, but despite being raised in both Switzerland and Sweden, Katapult endured. As time went by, Joel Purificacion was invited to shred some solos on the EP but he was such a good fit so he ended up joining the ranks.

Their debut EP ‘A Fistful of Truth’ is a four track Thrash/Death suckerpunch in the vein of The Haunted and Lamb of God. The EP was released on April 1st 2020.

Off like a missile and with all the same potential destructive capabilities, Katapult explode with heavy death groove. The smash mouth start of Siege, Destroy, Annihilate has plenty of bouncy head-banging about it while being rooted into the death/thrash sound completely.

More of an opening warning shot, it’s P.R.O.F.I.T. that really has Katapult hit their targets. Fiery as hell, there’s a bit more traditional thrash about this track, especially when you hear the wicked guitar solo in it.

A Fistful of Truth is a confident band ready to continue kicking ass. The pace of the riffs, the violent vocal assault and groove of the drums work so damn well. A proper head-banger steeped in old school thrash filtered through the modern sieve of a band capable of doing so.

Finally, it’s L’appel du Vide that lands the killing blow, one last explosive hit to confirm Katapult as a band to be watching closely.

Katapult – A Fistful of Truth Full Track Listing:

1. Siege, Destroy, Annihilate
2. P.R.O.F.I.T.
3. A Fistful of Truth
4. L’appel du Vide




Bandcamp | Facebook | YouTube

Katapult - A Fistful of Truth (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)