EP Review: Grant The Sun – Simmar Ur Bild (Mas-Kina Recordings)

Featuring members of Insense and Beaten To Death, Grant The Sun is a trio from Norway playing an instrumental metal sound influenced by the likes of Devin Townsend, Extol and Meshuggah. They released a self-titled EP a little over a year ago (read our review here) and Simmar Ur Bild sees Grant The Sun picking up where it left off. The EP will be out on November 30th 2018 via Mas-Kina Recordings.

Simmar 2

Having already delivered us a 10/10 album with the previously released self-titled EP it would take a lot for Simmar Ur Bild to top that. Damn it if they don’t come mighty close though! The exceptionally smart and exciting builds through progressive metal noise that doesn’t miss vocals in the slightest is truly awe-inspiring. The title track sets the tone of the EP perfectly, hopeful but slightly abstract too.

It’s an outragouesly strong start that Ondskans Vaktmästare builds on with chunky riffing and melody before Tje Kjonoj really lets the prog pace fly. A medley of clever hook and riffs, it’s Grant the Sun at their strongest.

The unique flavour they give then cleanses the palette for the solid finish of Sjuttonde Maj and just like the debut EP, you’re left wanting more, much more.

Simmar 1

Grant the Sun – Simmar Ur Bild Full Track Listing:

1. Simmar Ur Bild
2. Ondskans Vaktmästare
3. Tje Kjonoj
4. Sjuttonde Maj

The EP will be available to stream via all major services on release but you can keep up to date with news by liking Grant the Sun’s Facebook Page.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Grant The Sun - Simmar Ur Bild (Mas-Kina Recordings)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)