EP Review: Aempyrean – Fireborn (Cyclopean Eye Productions)

Clawing their way through the Indian underground, Aempyrean blast forth with a whirlwind of fire and brimstone. Influenced by 80s and early 90s thrash and death metal with a touch of the black in there too. Their debut EP ‘Fireborn’ will be unleashed on December 1st 2018 via Cyclopean Eye Productions.

Aempyrean 2

Dealing in rage, Fireborn is 4 tracks of heavy as hell metal with a Morbid Angel cover thrown in for good measure. There’s nothing particular standout nor is there anything that stops this being a solid slab of head-banging old school enjoyable metal. Both On the Warpath and the title track bring the fire with a high level of quality riffing and bone-crunching heaviness.

A decent cover of Morbid Angel’s Chapel of Ghouls splits the EP in half. Before The Devourer throws out a short segment of dark effects and sounds. A nothing track that really would have been better served as an intro to the EP rather then a setup to Undying Scourge. The final track on the EP is also the longest coming in at nearly 7 minutes.

It’s also the best track of the bunch with a really wicked chuggy set of riffs and tempo switches that get the neck muscles really moving. The vocals are also at their filthiest here and the thrash influences are littered throughout.

Aempyrean 1

Aempyrean – Fireborn Full Track Listing:

1. On the Warpath
2. Fireborn
3. Chapel of Ghouls (Morbid Angel Cover)
4. The Devourer
5. Undying Scourge



You can order the EP via Bandcamp here and find out more via Aempyrean’s Facebook Page.

Aempyrean - Fireborn (Cyclopean Eye Productions)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!