EP Review: Emersis – Deadlight (Self Released)

Bringing together the best elements of modern metal and 80’s enthusiasm, Emersis are a 5 piece heavy metal band from Brighton delivering soaring vocals, crushing riffs and blistering guitar solos. Their debut EP, Deadlight was released on September 30th 2018.

The British metal underground scene is really growing in strength over the last the few years. More and more quality bands are emerging to show just what they can do and now Emersis can be added to the already lengthy list of British bands to keep an eye on in the future.

Kicking off with Deadlight, a track that is the sum of many parts. A little bit thrash, a little bit classic metal, a little bit extreme and a whole lot of good head-banging heaviness. Taking all those elements and putting them to good use shows talent.

No Longer My Past is a real step up though with hair-raising vocals and blood-pumping riffs. This is the track you want to play people to show just how good Emersis can be especially when the pace increases to thrash levels near the end.

A bit of an aggressive snarl and a raging but brief solo keeps the EP hot with A Second Chance before the chunkiness of Not Today wraps up an impressive EP. It’s only four-tracks long but Emersis make use of every second to make sure that you’ll remember their name by time the final note rings out.

Emersis 1

Emersis – Deadlight Full Track Listing:

1. Deadlight
2. No Longer My Past
3. A Second Chance
4. Not Today

[amazon_link asins=’B07HSWCMDZ,B07HSP4NWT,B07HTCC97Y,B07HT6CZP2′ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’4f57b92b-cbb8-11e8-9481-6158196648b5′]

Deadlight is out now and can be streamed/picked up via Spotify, iTunes, Google Play and all other major services. Find out more/keep up to date with news by liking their Facebook Page.

Emersis - Deadlight (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!