EP Review: Cove – A Conscious Motion (Self Released)

Kent heavy metal band, Cove released their sophomore EP, A Conscious Motion on March 23rd 2018.

The band had this to say about the EP: “We wrote ‘A Conscious Motion’ with a view to writing an EP of songs for ourselves that were cathartic and personal. It deals with the struggles of members within the band, dealing with losing everything that you once lived for, to watching a part of someone else you love fade away,” reveals Cove Guitarist Pete Woolven, of their newly self-released sophomore. He continues: “We’re really proud of what we have achieved – our goal was to write an EP that didn’t sound like other heavy bands out there at the moment – to write an EP that sounds like Cove.” 

Cove 2

Kicking off with some serious oomph as opener Coincide: Collide builds nicely before hitting some familiar metalcore notes. Clean vocals (good but nothing we’ve not heard before) start up before a screaming style join in creating a much more fulfilling song. The heaviness hits & you can’t help but get excited.

Cove’s metalcore sound isn’t lacking in depth but it’s not exactly original sounding. With tracks like Solis and All I Believe you might struggle to pick them out of a line-up. That’s an unfortunate fact of modern metal, especially metalcore and is hardly a fair reflection on what is an EP of quality, hard-hitting metal.

The five-piece save the best for last though as Reflect: Resolve delivers an exceedingly heavy track with a soft, gooey centre of sweet melody. It’s a strong finish, ensuring Cove won’t just be forgotten about.

Cove 1

Cove – A Conscious Motion Full Track Listing:

1. Coincide: Collide
2. Solis
3. All I Believe
4. Host
5. Reflect: Resolve

[amazon_link asins=’B079F4C9HG,B079F1K25G,B079F3WL8B,B079F3V3K9′ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’5439248e-35f9-11e8-ab04-ef9e425e07fd’]

You can stream the EP now via Spotify and Apple Music below. You can also pick up merchandise via BigCartel. Find out more/keep up to date with Cove news via their website, Facebook Page, Twitter, Instagram and watch some of their videos on YouTube.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Cove - A Conscious Motion (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *