EP Review: Bodom After Midnight – Paint the Sky with Blood (Napalm Records)

On April 23rd, 2021, melodic death metal pillar Bodom After Midnight will release their new EP, Paint the Sky with Blood, via Napalm Records.

Paint the Sky with Blood was recorded in Finland back in 2020 and was meant to be the beginning of an exciting new chapter that sadly ended far too soon. The three-track offering is an impressive, overwhelming sonic tribute to an absolute legend of the metal scene – matchless late guitarist/vocalist Alexi Laiho – and at the same time, a modern homage to the genre itself.

What a bittersweet release this is. Alexi Laiho was a legend not just in melodic metal circles but the metal world in general. As farewell releases go, it’s fitting that it is so very recognisable.

Bodom in name, Bodom in spirit.

Kicking off with the title track, the energetic blast of melo-death riffing, hectic drumming and scornful vocals is heartening. The issues that resulted in the split and name change haven’t dented the impact Laiho has. Reckless, dense and ruthless while having an exciting melodic edge, the solo is a high point of the track.

Payback’s A Bitch is the best track on the EP though. A feverish and passionate display that is kept at a hyper speed all the way through. Yet we get such a wild array of riffs, hooks and licks, it beggars belief. Laiho is also on fine form vocally here too.

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Finally, Where Dead Angel’s Lie has Bodom After Midnight take their foot of the gas for a longer and more darkly melodic effort. A track that still has plenty of oomph, the clarity in the guitars is top-shelf stuff. It’s the least interesting of the bunch but it still more than delivers on what we all wanted. A farewell to Alexi Laiho that honours the music he had made so iconic.

Paint the Sky with Blood is every bit Alexi Laiho and that makes it a standout release.

Bodom After Midnight – Paint the Sky with Blood Fill Track Listing:

1. Paint the Sky with Blood
2. Payback’s A Bitch
3. Where Dead Angels Lie


Facebook | Instagram | Napalm Records


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Bodom After Midnight - Paint the Sky with Blood (Napalm Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)