EP Review: Ars Magna Umbrae – Through Lunar Gateways (Hellthrasher Productions)

The debut EP from Poland’s Ars Magna Umbrae, Through Lunar Gateways was self-released digitally in February 2017. It will be available on CD via Hellthrasher Productions on June 23rd 2017.

Ars Magna Umbrae 1

The short opener, Into the Inescapable Madness lets you know everything you need to about Ars Magna Umbrae. Thumping drums & bass, furious riffing & blackened vocals.

The EP has a really low & dirty sound that crawls under the skin. On songs such as Against the Light & The Paradox Paradigm it’s showcased to immense proportions. The EP, Through Lunar Gateways offers way more then your average black metal sound, it’s stylistic & rhythmic. Melodic elements are added to enhance the more brutal moments to great effect.

After a short interlude (Between Ecstasy & Histery), the title track, Through Lunar Gateways comes screaming out of the blocks as if a rocket has been stuck up it. The midpoint drop into softer melody & chant-like vocals adds a different & surprising but very pleasing element.

This great EP wraps up with the brilliant intensity Of Thousand Suns & the epic ending of On the Crossroads. Two different sounding tracks but both with some seriously slamming metal & uplifting melody. A hell of an EP.

Ars Magna Umbrae 2

Ars Magna Umbrae – Through Lunar Gateways Full Track Listing:

1. Into the Inescapable Madness
2. Against the Light
3. The Paradox Paradigm
4. Between Ecstasy & Histery (Interlude)
5. Through Lunar Gateways
6. Of Thousand Suns
7. On the Crossroads

Through Lunar Gateways can be picked up now over on Bandcamp here as well as streaming services like Apple Music below. You can find out more about Ars Magna Umbrae over on Facebook.

Ars Magna Umbrae - Through Lunar Gateways (Hellthrasher Productions)
  • The Final Score - 9.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.